Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

» : 21 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review Posted by pjoo1120 - posted: Mon November 5, 2012 8:46pm [ Post a Review
015905060899C.jpg

Views: 12879

Got the 25 footer for $25 on amazon (qualifies for free shipping, too!). Makes water changes so much easier - have used mine about 5 times now. I read that the Aqueons are built a little more solid than competitors. However, not having anything to compare it to, I will say that for the most part the product is solid. The only part I'm worried about for long term use is the valve knobs. THey are sometimes hard to turn and the blue plastic seems a bit flimsy. Maybe the knobs will loosen up after time and it won't be much of a concern? I also wish the threading for the faucet attachment was metal and not plastic. I worry about accidentally cross threading the plastic threads and ruining it. TO sum up, for the price it's hard to pass up. THe 25 footer is plenty long for my setup and it's nice not having to carry buckets of water back and forth. Do not may full retail, they can be found for a dollar a foot!

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Aqueon Aquarium Water Changer" by aji1217 - posted: Mon January 25, 2010 - Rating: ********* 9.00
Last Review Posted by pjoo1120 - posted: Mon April 30, 2012 5:23pm [ Post a Review
hikari.jpg

Views: 4969

Quality ingredients that plecos love. Not much else to these wafers, they perform as advertised. Hikari produces some quality foods!

Rating: 9
Product Details: "tropical algae wafers" by angelcakes - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ********* 8.60
Last Review Posted by pjoo1120 - posted: Mon April 30, 2012 5:12pm [ Post a Review
p_150227_FS30326Dleaf.jpg

Views: 4921

Simple to use liquid fertilizer. Great for basic plants that don't have strict needs. I've used it a few times for my plants, but stopped because they were already growing well and I wanted them to use the nitrates from the fish.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Leaf Zone" by waterhog - posted: Mon January 19, 2009 - Rating: ********* 8.67
Last Review Posted by pjoo1120 - posted: Mon April 30, 2012 5:06pm [ Post a Review
net_breeder_1.jpg

Views: 3389

I was actually very positively surprised with this product, especially at $5 and from a house brand. I was looking for a simple refugium for an injured fish. First, it's pretty large for a breeder which I like. Assembly is a snap, literally. However, it also comes with several branches of plastic plants which helps the fish feel less exposed. The netting is also a fine mesh and obscures the view to help keep the fish more comfortable. The best thing I like about it is that it floats on the surface and self-adjusts to your water level while guided on tube rails (which are suction-cupped on the glass). This really helps with water changes as I've found that I can do a 25-30% water change on my 20 gallon tall and not have to fiddle with the breeder at all. Construction seems a bit flimsy, but nothing has broken on it yet. At $5, I wouldn't hesitate to get another if I need to. I bought this as a quick necessity since I don't have a QT, but I've already used it several times and it works great.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Net Breeder" by pjoo1120 - posted: Mon April 30, 2012 - Rating: ********* 9.00
Last Review Posted by pjoo1120 - posted: Mon April 30, 2012 4:53pm [ Post a Review
pPETS-3759804dt.jpg

Views: 4648

Can't beat it for the price if you have a smaller tank. Provides good suction and gets out a lot of debris. Only takes a few pumps to get it started. If you store the hose coiled up (as I imagine most do due to space limitations) it stays coiled and you have to fight with it to stay straight at the outlet. Doesn't drain out well after you are done with it, so you can spill water everywhere if you aren't careful with it while moving it around. Clip is included and somewhat helpful for use on a bucket or pail, but the hole is too large for the tube, so the aforementioned coiled tube still moves around somewhat freely.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "Gravel Vac" by Wild Turkey - posted: Sat December 27, 2008 - Rating: ******** 8.30
Last Review Posted by pjoo1120 - posted: Mon April 30, 2012 4:45pm [ Post a Review
Eheim-Automatic-Fish-Feeder.jpg

Views: 4785

I use mine when out of town. Works well and has a lot of different programming options. It's not as intuitive to program and set up, though. Works on AA batteries and you just set it on your hood. The food compartment just spins around at your set time(s) and there is an adjustable opening to control how much food comes out. My hood isn't completely flat, but slightly curved, but the feeder stays on with its rubber feet. I'm still nervous it might slide off and fall into the water! Kind of expensive.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "Eheim Everyday Fish Feeder" by Trillianne - posted: Thu June 23, 2011 - Rating: ******* 6.75
Last Review Posted by pjoo1120 - posted: Mon April 30, 2012 4:39pm [ Post a Review
magfloat.jpg

Views: 22559

Product works great at scrubbing tank walls. Fun to use in a way and stays in the water so you can use it whenever you find a patch of growth. However, it is pricy... $10 for essentially two magnets and some fabric. Probably could have DIY'd one for less, but whatever. But to top it off, the one I got had fit and finish issue, the scrubbing side wasn't installed on center, so there's a little bit of overhang. Not enough to return it, but annoying given the price paid.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Mag Float" by The Red Severum - posted: Tue December 9, 2008 - Rating: ********* 8.70
Last Review Posted by pjoo1120 - posted: Mon April 30, 2012 4:34pm [ Post a Review
Biowheel.jpg

Views: 8964

Works decently and has all the filtration in one HOB. If you don't want the water to splash, you need to keep your water level very high in your tank. This is the reason I swapped it out for an internal. If sound doesn't matter much, this is a great filter.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "Penguin BIO-Wheel (all models)" by NickFish - posted: Sat May 3, 2008 - Rating: ******* 7.18
Last Review Posted by pjoo1120 - posted: Mon April 30, 2012 4:28pm [ Post a Review
MarinelandLEDAquariumKits.jpg

Views: 5170

I forgot to mention, the net's handle isn't even long enough to reach the bottom of the tank by a long shot.
Product Details: "BioWheel LED Aquarium Kit (20 Gallon)" by pjoo1120 - posted: Mon April 30, 2012 - Rating: **** 4.00
Last Review Posted by pjoo1120 - posted: Mon April 30, 2012 4:27pm [ Post a Review
MarinelandLEDAquariumKits.jpg

Views: 5170

Background: got the green light from the wife to start a tank, so I rushed into it and bought a kit (didn't want the offer to expire!). The good stuff: the LED hood is great if you aren't going to heavily plant your tank. It is a very clean white which can be switched to a cool deep blue for nighttime viewing. The LED array itself is very durable, lightweight and doesn't generate heat (vs incandescent or fluorescent). The Penguin 150 is a reputable filter. Heater works but can't speak to it's quality because it's only been in use for four months. Pretty much everything else is bad: - The tank itself is a 20 gallon tall. Looking back I wish I would have gotten a long instead. - The thermometer is the exterior sticker type which I never bothered to even install. I bought a several submersible thermometer. - Samples were pretty worthless and were throwaways While this is a starter kit, it did not include substrate. If you are looking for a quick start and don't care much about specific components, then this may be right for you. But for me, it was a hasty decision. If afforded the time, I would have researched each component separately and gone with a 20 gallon long as mentioned before. I've had to swap out the filter for a submersible because the 150, as good and quiet as it is, wasn't quiet enough and was keeping my baby up at night. So pretty much I now have a tank that I don't like the dimensions of and a decent filter that I don't use. Most of the other things I don't use. The only thing going for it right now is the LEDs. :scry:

Rating: 4
Product Details: "BioWheel LED Aquarium Kit (20 Gallon)" by pjoo1120 - posted: Mon April 30, 2012 - Rating: **** 4.00
Next Page »

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.