Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

» : 22 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review Posted by funkman262 - posted: Mon November 15, 2010 8:11pm [ Post a Review


Views: 8890

For the price, this product seems to be doing a pretty good job on my 90g tank that was overtaken by free-floating algae (aka green water). I bought the 24W model and I went from not being able to see into the tank at all into finally being able to see the back of the tank after about 4 days. It's still a recent purchase for me but I'm pleased with it so far.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Green Killing Machine UV Sterilizer" by funkman262 - posted: Mon November 15, 2010 - Rating: ******** 8.00
Last Review Posted by funkman262 - posted: Thu November 11, 2010 9:12am [ Post a Review
current_USA_light.jpg

Views: 3013

I own two of the 2-bulb fixtures (a 78W and a 108W) and they don't come with fans so they can get pretty hot. With the 108W fixture, when the light come on it makes a popping sound for a while and then makes the same sounds again at lights off. Not sure what it is.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "Nova Extreme 48" 2x54W T-5 10,000K (fresh water)" by doug z - posted: Wed December 3, 2008 - Rating: ******* 7.33
Last Review Posted by funkman262 - posted: Thu November 11, 2010 1:34am [ Post a Review


Views: 2924

I don't recommend anyone use a single food source for their livestock. I include this product in a mixture of about 5 different flake foods, brine shrimp, plankton and bloodworms. All of the food is gone as soon as it enters the tank so I doubt the fish have any complaints.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Top Fin Tropical Flakes" by Fraoch - posted: Thu March 26, 2009 - Rating: ******* 7.00
Last Review Posted by funkman262 - posted: Thu November 11, 2010 1:30am [ Post a Review
pPETS-3759804dt.jpg

Views: 4654

It's easy to clean gravel with using the attachment but after switching to a planted tank with sand, I removed the attachment and use the hose for siphoning off of the sand when occasionally needed and used the attachment for a DIY CO2 reactor.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Gravel Vac" by Wild Turkey - posted: Sat December 27, 2008 - Rating: ******** 8.30
Last Review Posted by funkman262 - posted: Thu November 11, 2010 1:26am [ Post a Review
img3042214med.jpg

Views: 13523

Only issue I've had is crunching fragile stem plants but I contribute that to rough handling and not necessarily product flaws.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Plant Anchors" by Wild Turkey - posted: Fri January 23, 2009 - Rating: ******* 7.25
Last Review Posted by funkman262 - posted: Thu November 11, 2010 1:23am [ Post a Review
yhst-85300140756196_2034_106775855.gif

Views: 5748

I haven't used it as a hatchery but I have separated unexpected fry into it as well as aggressive fish temporarily.

Rating: 5
Product Details: "Fish Hatchery" by Wild Turkey - posted: Tue January 27, 2009 - Rating: ***** 4.50
Last Review Posted by funkman262 - posted: Thu November 11, 2010 12:59am [ Post a Review
magfloat.jpg

Views: 22573

It might be a tad bit pricey but it's really a one-time investment. It's so easy to use and if they detach, it'll just float to the top so you don't need to reach in to retrieve it. I love also being able to go from one glass to the next without needing to moving it from inside the tank. Highly recommend.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Mag Float" by The Red Severum - posted: Tue December 9, 2008 - Rating: ********* 8.70
Last Review Posted by funkman262 - posted: Thu November 11, 2010 12:53am [ Post a Review
maxijet_1200.jpg

Views: 4106

Works great as a return pump for my saltwater sump and also to mix saltwater.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Maxijet 1200" by Cliff - posted: Sun October 31, 2010 - Rating: ******** 7.67
Last Review Posted by funkman262 - posted: Thu November 11, 2010 12:51am [ Post a Review
flourite.jpg

Views: 9484

I began using this sand when I switched over to a planted tank. I love the black sand because it contrasts well with the green plants and it really helps to make the fish pop. I don't even vacuum the poop off of the sand because it just blends right in and my plants eventually use it as fertilizer. Only complaint is I had to order it online and it could be a bit expensive.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Flourite Black Sand" by funkman262 - posted: Thu November 11, 2010 - Rating: ********* 9.00
Last Review Posted by funkman262 - posted: Thu November 11, 2010 12:46am [ Post a Review
testkit2.jpg

Views: 8590

This test kit is vital for keeping corals. The calcium test kit is a must for keeping hard corals. The phosphate and nitrate tests are important to monitor for keeping algae in check. Highly recommend to anyone who owns a reef tank.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Reef Master Test Kit" by funkman262 - posted: Thu November 11, 2010 - Rating: ********** 10.00
Next Page »

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.