Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

» : 4 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review Posted by tortuga - posted: Wed July 21, 2010 11:40pm [ Post a Review
d8cb4e1c4857e7180300ccafed4915dc.jpg

Views: 6978

Can't revise my original review, so here's an update. Died tonight, and of course I don't have a 4 month old receipt... "quality" modern manufacturing like everything else. :11:

Rating: 1
Product Details: "Whisper EX20" by tortuga - posted: Thu February 4, 2010 - Rating: ****** 5.67
Last Review Posted by tortuga - posted: Thu February 4, 2010 10:33am [ Post a Review
105536.jpg

Views: 9345

I got this tank on sale at Petsmart for $40. In it lives a little pea puffer and an Oto and a handful of ghost shrimp. It is heavily planted. There are 2 versions of this. One has incandescent lighting, which is as terrible as all incandescent lighting, and there's a newer revision with flourescent. With the flourescent, my plants are growing so quickly they've provided enough overstock to stock my other 2 tanks as well. The filtration is excellent, granted I do have a small bio-load. The bio-wheel took about a month to show bacteria growing on it. I have this tank on my coffee table, and it looks great... especially when the tank is planted. WIth the heavy planting, the 360 degree view is nice for finding the little pea puffer hunting for snails among all the plants. Would definitely buy again (but be sure to get the flourescent one the first time...)

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Eclipse Hex 5" by tortuga - posted: Thu February 4, 2010 - Rating: ********* 9.00
Last Review Posted by tortuga - posted: Thu February 4, 2010 10:25am [ Post a Review
d8cb4e1c4857e7180300ccafed4915dc.jpg

Views: 6978

I have this filter (EX20 version) in a 10gal tank, with some dirty fish. It does an excellent job keeping the water clear and creates good current. It has a very good flow rate in this size tank. The only thing I wish it could accomodate was biobags so I could fill them with carbon + zeolyte more easily. I do slice open the carbon inserts and refill them with zeolyte+carbon mixture but it would be nice if there were a fill-it-yourself option too. Overall though, I am extremely pleased with the water quality. The biological media has gathered quite a farm of the helpful bacteria to help remove ammonia, and my levels have never risen above .02 (even with a goldfish). I do 2-3 gallon water changes every 10-14 days or so. Other than that, it's maintenance free!

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Whisper EX20" by tortuga - posted: Thu February 4, 2010 - Rating: ****** 5.67
Last Review Posted by tortuga - posted: Thu December 31, 2009 3:04pm [ Post a Review
insidewhisperETS-3761376dt.jpg

Views: 5603

I replaced the carbon filter with a small mesh bag filled with carbon+zeolyte. Figured since it was a small tank it could use the extra ammonia removal. The openings at the water intake are pretty large though. For an intended use of a 1-3 gallon tank, it's safe to assume there will be small fish in them... which should have warranted smaller openings that fish couldn't get sucked up into. The air pump died after about 2 weeks of use.

Rating: 4
Product Details: "Whisper In-Tank Power Filters" by Wild Turkey - posted: Sun December 7, 2008 - Rating: ****** 6.00
Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.