Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

» : 4 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review Posted by CherrySparkles - posted: Wed January 6, 2010 5:57pm [ Post a Review
img3038055.jpg

Views: 4921

Labyrinth fish, like bettas and gouramis, can be seriously injured or even killed by the use of BettaFix or MelaFix, the stronger formula. While other fish can tolerate melaleuca extract (the active ingredient in Betta/MelaFix) quite well, the labyrinth organ present in bettas is highly sensitive to it. The melaleuca can burn the labyrinth organ and at high enough concentrations or with enough exposure, can damage the labyrinth organ to the point that the fish cannot breathe with it. These fish cannot breathe using their gills alone and will suffocate as a result of this. Many people have reported firsthand the sudden deaths of their bettas after using this product. Given the above information, I cannot give this product, when marketed specifically FOR bettas a good rating or recommend it at all. Also, note that melaleuca is a harsh antiseptic and an irritant, speeding the healing of torn fins and tissue by irritating the injury site to speed up healing. This would be similar to putting alcohol on a wound.

Rating: 1
Product Details: "Bettafix" by Wild Turkey - posted: Sat December 27, 2008 - Rating: **** 3.67
Last Review Posted by CherrySparkles - posted: Wed January 6, 2010 5:22pm [ Post a Review
eclipse_12.jpg

Views: 7697

I'm using the System 12 as a betta tank (so a very low bioload) and I've found it to be fabulous! I've cycled the tank, and was very pleased that the filter basket was more than large enough to accomodate a bag of bio media and some filter foam for mechanical filtration. The motor runs silently unless you basically press your ear up to the tank. There is more than enough space in the tank to create a jungle of (in my case silk) plants and the shape is pretty much optimal for viewing the fish, as far as I'm concerned. Out of the box, the tank was incredibly easy to set up, and everything is enclosed within the tank once running, so it has a very sleek, neat look. The tank is also nice and compact and can be put basically anywhere (provided that it can support ~120 lbs) The one con is that the entire lid must be removed to do maintenance on the tank. There is a small, hinged door on the top of the tank, but it's mostly positioned over the filter and is best for only minor filter maintenance and for checking on the filter. Other than that, the entire hood (with the lighting assembly inside) must be lifted off to access much of the water's surface and to do maintenance on the tank. Overall, I love this tank and would recommend it to anyone as a home for a betta. My fishy loves having all the space to live in and I can't imagine him in anything less.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Eclipse 12" by drubeeber - posted: Wed April 30, 2008 - Rating: ******* 7.43
Last Review Posted by CherrySparkles - posted: Wed January 6, 2010 5:11pm [ Post a Review
visi-therm_stealth.jpg

Views: 16657

I use the 25 watt and 50 watt Visi-Therm Stealths in my 5 gallon and 12 gallon betta tanks, respectively, and they've been just fabulous! Before the stealths, the heaters I had used would allow the temperature to fluctuate by a degree (and possibly more, if I had kept using them) but the temperature never budges using the Stealths - even when I turned the heat down in my condo by over 5 degrees. The fact that they're shatterproof and will just shut off if they end up plugged in and out of water is so fabulous. I felt like I was walking on eggshells with previous heaters - glass shards in the tank isn't a fun option! But obviously, these heaters eliminate that. The newest Stealth models even have an on/off light now, in the form of an alternating red (heating) and green (off) LED that illuminates the entire temperature selector dial and the temperature indicator too. The newer models are also a bit smaller due to some solid state circuitry that the company is using now. I trust these heaters completely.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible" by drubeeber - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ********** 9.54
Last Review Posted by CherrySparkles - posted: Wed January 6, 2010 5:01pm [ Post a Review
Hikari_Betta_Bio-Gold.jpg

Views: 6386

I had fed my betta this food for a few months, but when I read the ingredient label and saw that MSG was added to these pellets, I was horrified. MSG has no nutritional value whatsoever and is added to human foods simply to enhance flavour, normally in foods that are not good for you. Beyond that, you can Google "MSG" to find out the other negative effects it can have. These pellets also contain a lot of filler, with the second ingredient in them even being whole wheat flour. Betta are strict carnivores in the wild, eating insects and zooplankton. Where they could naturally encounter bread is just beyond me, and whole wheat flour has no place in their diet. As these pellets are dry (10% moisture max) they need to be soaked in tank water for 5 to 10 minutes before feeding to bettas in order to prevent them from swelling once ingested by the betta. Note the size of the pellet before and after soaking - they swell a huge amount, at least doubling in size, from what I can see. Having this happen inside the fish is not good for them at all, and can easily cause constipation in a fish that is already prone to it. It should be noted that this same problem will be encountered with freeze dried foods, which also need to be rehydrated prior to feeding. As a final note, of the pellets that are available, these are among the best, but they are still lacking a lot in terms of optimum nutrition for bettas. Since researching what goes into pellet food, I've been feeding my betta a variety of frozen foods, alternating between 5 different kinds. It's your choice to make, but I was incredibly disturbed when I looked into the ingredients of pellets.

Rating: 4
Product Details: "Betta Bio-Gold" by CherrySparkles - posted: Wed January 6, 2010 - Rating: ***** 5.00
Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.