Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

» : 24 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review Posted by wolf_eyes - posted: Mon October 25, 2010 1:47am [ Post a Review
Picture_17.png

Views: 8289

This product has saved my tanks more than once. I know there's a lot of people out there that don't think "live bacteria" products are worth buying since some of them are frauds, but this one does work. I shipped my fish, along with media filter overnight to my new house. After a few days of setting up their new tank, I started seeing a couple of dead shrimp. A quick water test showed signs of ammonia in the tank and I quickly found out that my bacteria from my filter media had not made the trip. I went out and bought some hornwort and this product that day and put it into the tank. The next morning there was no sign of ammonia in sight. I also used this when I had to medicate a tank and I had a drop in benefical bacteria due to the medicine. I pour some of this into the tank and parameters went back to normal. I would strongly recommend buying more than you need. for example if you are setting up a 20 gallon tank, buy a bottle that is recommended for a 40 gallon tank. It may be a bit more money but I think the results are worth it.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Live! Nitrifying Bacteria Freshwater" by wolf_eyes - posted: Sat February 6, 2010 - Rating: ********** 10.00
Last Review Posted by wolf_eyes - posted: Mon October 25, 2010 1:38am [ Post a Review
betta-security-house-with-lid.jpg

Views: 6669

I'm not the biggest fan of breeder net or "tanks within tanks" but as far as they go this one isn't too bad. The biggest plus for this one vs. the rest of them is its length. The fish actually has much more room to swim in this product than most others. It also has slots at the bottom that are good for spawning or birthing fish because the eggs/fry can slip right through. As a betta holder it works good as well. Please only keep one betta in this unit as keeping more in it is not good for the fish. The only downside is the suction cups. While the suction cups allow for the unit to be put anywhere they also sometimes lose their suction. This can be bad when you have two males in the same tank(with one being kept in the divider) or a betta or gourami in the tank. I've come home a few times to both my males swimming around in the main tank and quickly had to put the other one back in the divider. Pushing down on the suction cups everyday helps them stay better though.

Rating: 6
Product Details: "Betta security house" by wolf_eyes - posted: Sat February 6, 2010 - Rating: ****** 6.00
Last Review Posted by wolf_eyes - posted: Sun October 24, 2010 4:32pm [ Post a Review
Picture_18.png

Views: 6220

I got tired of trying to take pictures of my fish and constantly having water stains from the glass ruin the shot. I was a little nervous though about using chemicals near my tank as well though. often i would just take a cloth to the glass but I decided to give this product a try. The first time I put it on, I couldn't believe how clear the glass was. It allowed me to get some great shots of my fish. It leaves a polish on the tank that makes it more resistant to water spots, fingerprints, smudges and other marks that tend to end up on tanks. I suppose you could just use windex, but this product does claim that its a bit safer that windex. I would recommend buying it.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Glass cleaner" by wolf_eyes - posted: Sat February 6, 2010 - Rating: ********* 9.00
Last Review Posted by wolf_eyes - posted: Sun October 24, 2010 4:24pm [ Post a Review
tominaga_c3_rapids_power_filter.jpg

Views: 6193

I had a tight budget and was in need for a small filter for a 5 gallon tank. I decided to pick up this filter to give it a try. It was a waste of money. The filter tub is actually three parts that fit together very loosely so it allows for air to get through the intake if the water level is not kept very high. This makes the filter very loud and makes it have less water filtering power. It also needs to be perfectly leveled otherwise it will not want to work. I was hoping this would be a good product but I was sorely disappointed. I went out and bought cheap internal filter that has worked out better then this.

Rating: 3
Product Details: "Rapids Power filter 80gph" by wolf_eyes - posted: Tue May 18, 2010 - Rating: *** 3.00
Last Review Posted by wolf_eyes - posted: Sat February 6, 2010 9:43pm [ Post a Review


Views: 2977

I bought this because they were out of the giant Aqua Safe bottles. While it certainly does work, I will be switching back to Aqua safe. In my opinion, you use more of this stuff than you do with Aqua safe. Good product but not my thing.

Rating: 6
Product Details: "Water Conditioner" by ranubis89 - posted: Tue June 23, 2009 - Rating: ******** 8.20
Last Review Posted by wolf_eyes - posted: Sat February 6, 2010 9:27pm [ Post a Review
magfloat.jpg

Views: 22504

I didn't want to buy one of these because of the price at first but after getting knot algae in my tank, I finally broke down and bought one. I honestly have to say that I am very happy I did. It makes cleaning algae out of my tanks easy and quick. I don't have to get my whole arm wet to clean the tank. I still find it freaks the fish out, but not as bad as my whole hand being in the tank. A word of advise though, make sure there are no grains of sand attached to the magnet every time. I have a few scratches on my glass because of very small pieces that got caught in it. Other than that, this is well worth the price and will last you a very long time.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Mag Float" by The Red Severum - posted: Tue December 9, 2008 - Rating: ********* 8.70
Last Review Posted by wolf_eyes - posted: Sat February 6, 2010 9:13pm [ Post a Review
img3037589med.jpg

Views: 11541

I really wanted to try some CO2 injection into my tank. Normal CO2 was far too expensive and DIY CO2 just seemed like a huge hassle. I saw this in the store and thought that i might give it a try, even though I knew it was mainly a DIY CO2 kit. Set up went fine and I started getting bubbles within a couple of hours of starting the machine. The problem I found with it is that the little diffuser it comes with is not the most effective way of getting co2 into the tank and that the packets they gave you only lasted 20 days at the most. You also can't regulate how many bubbles get into the tank. I would say if you really want to do CO2, save up the money for a co2 tank. It may cost a lot, but the tank will last you years instead of a couple of weeks.

Rating: 4
Product Details: "Plant Gro Co2 System Bubble Counter" by Wild Turkey - posted: Fri January 23, 2009 - Rating: **** 3.50
Last Review Posted by wolf_eyes - posted: Sat February 6, 2010 8:55pm [ Post a Review
eco-complete_for_review_Large_.jpg

Views: 15724

I use this in all of my planted tanks. It makes the plants grow faster and more colorful from what I have seen. I also love the black color because it complements plants and fish, which is harder to find in other brands. It can get a bit expensive, especially in bigger tanks, but I think it's worth it. In tanks with cories and loaches I tend to have an area of pure sand so that they have an area to dig around in without harming their barbels.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Eco-Complete" by doug z - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ******** 7.83
Last Review Posted by wolf_eyes - posted: Sat February 6, 2010 7:58pm [ Post a Review
hikarimicropellets.jpg

Views: 10921

This is a great staple for fish 1 inch and bigger. It is eaten eagerly by all the fish I gave it to and the pygmy cories I have love it. The only problem I have with it is micro rasboras and other fish under an inch still have trouble eating it. If you have any of these fish, it is best to go with a quick sinking flake.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Tropical Micro Pellets" by NickFish - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ********* 9.42
Last Review Posted by wolf_eyes - posted: Sat February 6, 2010 7:32pm [ Post a Review
digitalpower.jpg

Views: 3749

I use this for my main tank in combo my betta tank. Four of the plugs are on constantly and I use those for my heaters and filters. My favorite aspect of this is the fact that when my daytime plugs(indicated in a yellow) switch off the nighttime plugs(indicated in blue) automatically turn on. this is great for switching from daytime light to nighttime viewing lights and airstones. The timer keeps algae low in the tank and gives the fish a more stable life. My only complaint with this product is that it can be a pain to program it sometimes. Sometimes it will won't register your new programing until the next day and it will leave your light on for 24 hours. It's only done it to me twice out of the whole year I've had it so I still would recommend it.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Coralife AquaLight Digital Power Center" by waterhog - posted: Mon December 22, 2008 - Rating: ******* 7.00
Next Page »

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.