Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

» : 4 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review Posted by Slimy - posted: Tue June 17, 2008 5:28pm [ Post a Review
Biowheel.jpg

Views: 8669

I have the penguin 350 with dual biowheels. It seems to be working really well and it definitely starts more easily than my emperor 40. However I really dislike the fact that there is no way to control the water flow. The other drawback is that the output lips are very short and to avoid splashing it requires a very high water level. Regardless, for the price it works really well.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "Penguin BIO-Wheel (all models)" by NickFish - posted: Sat May 3, 2008 - Rating: ******* 7.18
Last Review Posted by Slimy - posted: Tue June 17, 2008 1:38pm [ Post a Review
visi-therm_stealth.jpg

Views: 16300

I have two of these in my 55g tank and I really like them. So far they seem to be very reliable and surprisingly accurate. It does bother me that they don't have an led or a light to indicate when they are on. Also the bright red knob on a black heater sticks out like a sore thumb, especially against a black background.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Stealth Visi-Therm Submersible" by drubeeber - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ********** 9.54
Last Review Posted by Slimy - posted: Tue June 17, 2008 1:33pm [ Post a Review
CoralifePCP2.jpg

Views: 2256

I have the 2x65w 48" version and I really like it. I bought the optional mounting legs that let the light tilt upwards and they work really well. The aqualight fixtures have rails in the front and back that are used for accessories like the mounting legs (fixed or swivel) and hanging kit and night lights. All in all I think the lights are built really well. In this case you do get what you pay for and I think they are worth every penny. I'll definitely buy them again.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Aqualight Compact Fluorescent Fixtures" by Incredulous_Ed - posted: Tue April 29, 2008 - Rating: ********* 9.00
Last Review Posted by Slimy - posted: Tue June 17, 2008 6:33am [ Post a Review
l_6g_nano_cube.jpg

Views: 8382

I bought the 6g Nano Cube to use as a planted tank. I really liked the size and proportions. The filtration chambers in the back cover the full height of the tank (roughly 12 inches) so there is a lot of room for filter media. The shipped configuration comes with a tall sponge in the first chamber, bioballs, ceramic rings and carbon in the second and the third chamber is reserved for the pump. The pump does not seem to be the highest quality and at 106gph it's doubtfully enough for a nano reef, but it can easily be substituted for a mini-jet or small powerhead. The intake into the filter chamber is a grid on the back of the tank on the top left. The aquarium comes with a surface strainer that can be placed in front of the intake grid. The only thing holding the surface strainer in place is water pressure, so changes in water level (like when putting a hand in the tank, or water changes) cause it to fall off. The return into the tank is fitted with a jointed spout on the back in the upper right corner of the tank that can be oriented in different directions and that can be removed if desired. The lid is split in two sections. The front opens independently for feeding, or minimum maintenance. When it's open all the way, it remains up without having to hold it. Similarly, the full lid also swings up a full 90% and it also stays in place when it's flipped open. This makes for very convenient maintenance and water changes. The CF tube and the nite light are in a waterproof compartment and they are controlled by a rocker switch and a single power cord. It's not possible to use a timer to switch between the two. The 18w cfl bulb is available in a 50/50 version, which is what the nano cube ships with, and 6700k version for freshwater tanks. The cooling fans are not the quietest, nor the highest quality. After only 4 months the blades of one started rubbing against the sides. Thankfully they are standard 5cm size CPU fans so there are several substitutes on the market. Given the price I expected higher quality components, but overall I am very happy with mine and I would give it a 10 if it wasn't for the cheap quality of the fans and the pump.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "6g JBJ Nano Cube" by Slimy - posted: Tue June 17, 2008 - Rating: ******* 7.00
Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.