Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

» : 30 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Mon January 25, 2016 6:12pm [ Post a Review
Eheim_Classics.jpg

Views: 10596

Hands down, this is the quietest filter I've ever owned. The canister holds LOTS of media (I was able to fill it with the media from my old filter and all the new media, and still have a bit of room left over), and it's easy to customize to your media needs. Only reason it lost a point was because the so-called set-up instructions that come with it are pretty much useless; they only show what parts you're supposed to have, but not how most of them connect to each other, and no explanation at all about how to divide the tubing (or the mention that you may need a hacksaw/pipe cutter/utility knife to complete the installation). For a first-timer to canister filters, this can be VERY confusing.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Classic Line Canister Filters" by ILuvMyGoldBarb - posted: Mon June 16, 2008 - Rating: ********* 9.16
Last Review Posted by Fishan - posted: Fri January 22, 2016 4:37pm [ Post a Review


Views: 21124

I have owned three of these for my 75gal. The first one I bought was missing the filter media and I suspected it had been previously returned to the store. It lasted less than 24 hours before the pump quit. The store replaced it and the second one lasted about two years before a power surge took it out. The filter is very easy to clean, the shut off valve for intake/output hoses makes it all worth it. There are other more expensive filters with this feature that are implemented much more poorly. They lower the water mess when changing things out and keep the filter primed so no more tank water tasting. The filter media is a little pricey, but the baskets have no special design to them. You can easily use different media. The only downside I see is that the pump seems to get bogged down easily. Water flow diminishes rapidly. All over a good product and probably the best bang for your buck.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Rena Filstar Canister Filter" by Halelorf - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ********* 9.06
Last Review Posted by Fishan - posted: Thu January 21, 2016 8:35pm [ Post a Review
filtration_cutout.png

Views: 7691

I have used three of these on a 20 gal. tall turtle tank and when this one burns out I will buy a fourth. The tank is about 5 years old and though I have gone through three of them, I would rate them as durable. The abuse these filters can take is impressive. Being in a turtle tank, I keep the water level lower than the recommended level for the filter and it still works fine. They are a little louder than the old style Whisper filters, but the water noise is louder than the pump for me. If you get one of the filters with the "timer" on it don't bother with it. The only reason I don't rate this product a ten is that the intake tubes do not like to stay together. They stay together for about two days at best for me before you see the tubes laying in the tank. With full disclosure, it could be the turtles pulling it apart at night. They like to arrange the tank as they see fit.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "whisper ex" by waterhog - posted: Mon December 22, 2008 - Rating: ******** 8.17
Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Tue January 19, 2016 7:55pm [ Post a Review


Views: 419

At $17 for a 25# bag, I find this a better deal cost-wise than any of the store brands' I've tried. And Estes' proprietary sealing method really does work. I rinsed each bucket of gravel once before putting it in the tank...and after I filled up, there was no particulate matter suspended in the water. Perfectly clear, with a minimum amount of fuss! It comes in a variety of colors too, so you can pick the one that best suits your needs. I mixed the nutmeg & walnut together, and it looks great! Only downside is that it can sometimes be difficult to find. Few stores that I've seen keep it in stock...though it can be ordered online.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Spectrastone Nature Blends" by cajunqn81 - posted: Tue January 19, 2016 - Rating: ********** 10.00
Last Review Posted by Gar - posted: Thu December 24, 2015 3:07pm [ Post a Review


Views: 9860

I found the surface skimmer that it comes with will take in air once in awhile. So I just cap it off with the supplied cap. Works great is quite. The trays are kinda flimsy was the only other thing I have noticed.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "HW-404B" by lipadj46 - posted: Fri March 25, 2011 - Rating: ******** 8.33
Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Wed December 23, 2015 6:14pm [ Post a Review
hagenaquaclear70.jpg

Views: 37079

Hands down, the best HOB I've ever tried. Costs a bit more than other brands, but the reliability is worth it.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "AquaClear HOB filters" by Incredulous_Ed - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ********* 9.31
Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Wed December 23, 2015 6:03pm [ Post a Review
trop_sinking_wafer.jpg

Views: 9180

Devoured in minutes! Originally got these for my corys, but everyone loves them, even my larger tetras...they snatch them as they're sinking
Product Details: "Sinking Wafers - 0.88oz-2.2.lb" by Gemini - posted: Mon November 24, 2008 - Rating: ********* 9.45
Last Review Posted by Eddie Charles - posted: Mon November 23, 2015 11:40pm [ Post a Review
pPETS-3756646t400.jpg

Views: 19014

I have used Tetra Whisper filters in 10-20-30-40 gallon tanks. They always performed well for me for many years. I've passed all my larger tanks on to my sons and am left with only a 10 gallon and went out to purchase a 10 gal tank filter...could not find a Tetra Whisper! Tried aquaria shops, Petsmart and Petco. So I picked up an Aqueon Quietflow 10. Am impressed with the Aqueon...doesn't have to prime itself like the whisper and is very quiet.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Whisper Power Filters" by Incredulous_Ed - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ***** 5.46
Last Review Posted by peter666 - posted: Mon November 16, 2015 12:08pm [ Post a Review
skimmer.jpg

Views: 8596

Too hard to adjust water flow with air flow, theres just too many good ones out there that you just plug in and have one control. The water flow going into the skimmer leaks, the O-ring if you push something against in the bottom of your stand, theres no room under there anyhow. I had 15 gals. of water on the rug when i came home. Peter -------------------------------------------- http://www.hitsticker.com | http://www.printradiant.com | http://www.adstateagent.com

Rating: 7
Product Details: "Berlin X2" by Cliff - posted: Fri November 5, 2010 - Rating: ****** 6.33
Last Review Posted by fishkeeper4 - posted: Sat October 31, 2015 12:55pm [ Post a Review
55G.jpg

Views: 9094

I have the 38 gallon version. Basically a 30 gallon tank in dimension, just taller. The price was good and looks well built. The silicone application was just a little sloppy, but really not that bad. Would recommend.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Standard sized glass aquariums" by Cliff - posted: Tue October 12, 2010 - Rating: ********** 9.50
« Prev Page · Next Page »

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.