Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

» : 24 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review Posted by angelcraze2 - posted: Fri March 13, 2015 1:26am [ Post a Review
41G7IyZIpHL_SL500_AA280_.jpg

Views: 8408

Spectrum 'grow' 0.5 pellets have more protein and fiber and about twice as much fat as their 'small fish' formula. The growing fish get more nutrients they require. Feeding the fish more often, in small doses and keeping them in pristine water will help them to grow faster, this product just makes a staple food more convenient to feed often as opposed to live or frozen foods. I personally don't have a problem with the advertizing, but it doesn't leave you off the hook for taking good care of fry.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Grow" by Incredulous_Ed - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ******** 8.40
Last Review Posted by angelcraze2 - posted: Thu March 12, 2015 3:50pm [ Post a Review
41G7IyZIpHL_SL500_AA280_.jpg

Views: 8408

Spectrum 'grow' 0.5 pellets have more protein and fiber and about twice as much fat as their 'small fish' formula. The growing fish get more nutrients they require. Feeding the fish more often, in small doses and keeping them in pristine water will help them to grow faster, this product just makes a staple food more convenient to feed often as opposed to live or frozen foods. I personally don't have a problem with the advertizing, but it doesn't leave you off the hook for taking good care of fry.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Grow" by Incredulous_Ed - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ******** 8.40
Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Mon February 23, 2015 7:45pm [ Post a Review
hikari.jpg

Views: 5353

My corys love these, it causes a feeding frenzy when I drop them in the tank! And the tetras have been nibbling at them a bit too, though not as much.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "tropical algae wafers" by angelcakes - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ********* 8.63
Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Wed February 18, 2015 2:10pm [ Post a Review
31IjQ1VfpKL_SL500_AA200_.jpg

Views: 10921

I got a free sample of this, and I'm so glad I didn't actually pay for it. The ingredients are only so-so, and my fish turned tail on this unless it was the only food offered. Probably just as well, because the smell of it was awful. The only part of its advertising it really lived up to was that it didn't cloud the water.

Rating: 3
Product Details: "TetraMin Flakes" by Incredulous_Ed - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: **** 4.00
Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Wed February 18, 2015 12:51pm [ Post a Review
filtration_cutout.png

Views: 7172

I definitely liked the flow rate on this, it's great for heavily stocked tanks or when you need a fair amount of circulation. However, mine did not run as quietly as expected based on previous experience with the brand...disappointing in this regard. The so-called 'timer' also never worked properly, though that wasn't as much of a problem since I rarely use carbon filtration. I've also had some issues with the intake coming loose.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "whisper ex" by waterhog - posted: Mon December 22, 2008 - Rating: ******** 8.00
Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Wed February 18, 2015 12:22pm [ Post a Review
eheim_heater.jpg

Views: 13575

I bought this to replace another heater that was malfunctioning/not keeping temperature well. Other than the difficulty of getting the dial to turn (much harder than other models I've used), I'm quite pleased. Great value!

Rating: 9
Product Details: "2nd Generation" by gadget228 - posted: Thu August 12, 2010 - Rating: ********* 9.14
Last Review Posted by James` - posted: Sun February 8, 2015 11:02am [ Post a Review
240579_1_.jpg

Views: 7131

I seriously like the new and improved nano design

Rating: 9
Product Details: "koralia nano" by smaug - posted: Fri October 2, 2009 - Rating: ********* 8.75
Last Review Posted by Boundava - posted: Thu November 20, 2014 9:01am [ Post a Review


Views: 1686

I had purchased this for my 3-toed box turtles wading pool that I had built out of Styrofoam and Drylok. It was specified for up to 10 gallons so for a 3 gallon wading pool I thought it would work wonderfully. Right off the bat I had a very hard time getting the lid off. There are 2 slider tabs on either side of the lid that you are supposed to move opposite of each other to open and then close, but no matter what combo I tried I couldn't get it open for a good 5 minutes. The media it comes with is too much for the filter, there are some loose ceramic rings and a bag of carbon that sit on one end, and a large foam cylinder on the other end, I had to push really hard and shake it to get the ceramic rings to nestle enough so the carbon bag would sit on top and I could actually get the lid on it. They do not give you enough tubing, now the motor is not strong so it tells you to place this filter level with the tank or water you are filtering (which I did) but the tubes would just barely make it into my turtle’s terrarium and into the wading pool. I had to adjust the spray bar as well and siliconed the holes shut to get more of a flow out of it. Once I filled it with water and started it all I ever got was a trickle, never got a good flow out of it-ever. The intake was well covered, but air would keep getting into the system and I would walk up to my turtle and hear grinding as the little canister was 1/4 filled with air. After a week of this I just gave up on it and pulled it out. It may work better for a nano tank, but I didn't like the poor design so I wouldn't recommend this unless you are going to custom everything on it. Straight out of the box it doesn't work.

Rating: 4
Product Details: "Nano 501" by Tiari - posted: Wed March 27, 2013 - Rating: **** 4.00
Last Review Posted by Boundava - posted: Thu November 20, 2014 8:58am [ Post a Review


Views: 1686

I had purchased this for my 3-toed box turtles wading pool that I had built out of Styrofoam and Drylok. It was specified for up to 10 gallons so for a 3 gallon wading pool I thought it would work wonderfully. Right off the bat I had a very hard time getting the lid off. There are 2 slider tabs on either side of the lid that you are supposed to move opposite of each other to open and then close, but no matter what combo I tried I couldn't get it open for a good 5 minutes. The media it comes with is too much for the filter, there are some loose ceramic rings and a bag of carbon that sit on one end, and a large foam cylinder on the other end, I had to push really hard and shake it to get the ceramic rigs to nestle enough so the carbon bag would sit on top and I could actually get the lid on it. They do not give you enough tubing, now the motor is not strong so it tells you to place this filter level with the tank or water you are filtering (which I did) but the tubes would just barely make it into my turtle’s terrarium and into the wading pool. I had to adjust the spray bar as well and siliconed the holes shut to get more of a flow out of it. Once I filled it with water and started it all I ever got was a trickle, never got a good flow out of it-ever. The intake was well covered, but air would keep getting into the system and I would walk up to my turtle and hear grinding as the little canister was 1/4 filled with air. After a week of this I just gave up on it and pulled it out. It may work better for a nano tank, but I didn't like the poor design so I wouldn't recommend this unless you are going to custom everything on it. Straight out of the box it doesn't work.

Rating: 4
Product Details: "Nano 501" by Tiari - posted: Wed March 27, 2013 - Rating: **** 4.00
Last Review Posted by Boundava - posted: Thu November 20, 2014 8:32am [ Post a Review
Eheim_Classics.jpg

Views: 9602

I purchased a 2217 because my current canister filters were sucking in air and I had to adjust them on a daily basis. I was looking for a good quality filter and had always heard that Eheim was the best, just couldn't afford it when I first bought my canister filters years ago. Looking at the Eheim classic series the first thing that really caught me was the fact that unlike every other canister filter I have seen, this filter has the IN?OUT at opposite ends of the canister. What a concept, to actually get the water to flow through the media and not around it! As I read the reviews I did see some cautions on priming, but looking at the design versus the filters I currently had-I saw very little room for air to leak in and the smart flow, big intake and spray bar sold me! That and there was a sale at the online site I bought this filter at. As soon as I set this up in tandem with the two other filters I had on my 55 gallon tank I noticed an improvement in water quality-it was clearer. My other canister filters would shoot water out and it added a nice current but sometimes quantity is not the same a quality. The Eheim does a decent job with current, but I appreciate the fact that the water is pushed through the media and if this makes it slower flow-then I am all for it! Also the advertised gph on all Eheim filters is with a fully filled canister, the same cannot be said of the advertised speeds on other canister filters where the water moves around the media, not through it. Suffice to say I love the first 2217 so much that when it had been up and running for 2 months I ditched the old canisters and bought myself another 2217, seeded it with the biological media from my old canister filters and now have 2 running on my 75 gallon tank. I will not go back to any other canister filter, ever! As for priming, the first time I set it up on my 55, it was a little difficult, youtube has some great tricks to make it easy. Once you have it primed the first time, if you follow the same steps the next time it is self starting. I know as i had to take it a part a couple times while I moved from a 55 gallon to a 75 gallon, and even with the canister being only a foot under the temporary storage "tanks" the filter never had a problem priming after I disconnected it-even when the intake/output tubing was dry. Love the Eheim 2217 classic 600 canister filter, I hope it loves me too for years to come!

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Classic Line Canister Filters" by ILuvMyGoldBarb - posted: Mon June 16, 2008 - Rating: ********* 9.17
« Prev Page · Next Page »

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.