Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

» : 22 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review Posted by Boundava - posted: Thu November 20, 2014 9:01am [ Post a Review


Views: 1248

I had purchased this for my 3-toed box turtles wading pool that I had built out of Styrofoam and Drylok. It was specified for up to 10 gallons so for a 3 gallon wading pool I thought it would work wonderfully. Right off the bat I had a very hard time getting the lid off. There are 2 slider tabs on either side of the lid that you are supposed to move opposite of each other to open and then close, but no matter what combo I tried I couldn't get it open for a good 5 minutes. The media it comes with is too much for the filter, there are some loose ceramic rings and a bag of carbon that sit on one end, and a large foam cylinder on the other end, I had to push really hard and shake it to get the ceramic rings to nestle enough so the carbon bag would sit on top and I could actually get the lid on it. They do not give you enough tubing, now the motor is not strong so it tells you to place this filter level with the tank or water you are filtering (which I did) but the tubes would just barely make it into my turtle’s terrarium and into the wading pool. I had to adjust the spray bar as well and siliconed the holes shut to get more of a flow out of it. Once I filled it with water and started it all I ever got was a trickle, never got a good flow out of it-ever. The intake was well covered, but air would keep getting into the system and I would walk up to my turtle and hear grinding as the little canister was 1/4 filled with air. After a week of this I just gave up on it and pulled it out. It may work better for a nano tank, but I didn't like the poor design so I wouldn't recommend this unless you are going to custom everything on it. Straight out of the box it doesn't work.

Rating: 4
Product Details: "Nano 501" by Tiari - posted: Wed March 27, 2013 - Rating: **** 4.00
Last Review Posted by Boundava - posted: Thu November 20, 2014 8:58am [ Post a Review


Views: 1248

I had purchased this for my 3-toed box turtles wading pool that I had built out of Styrofoam and Drylok. It was specified for up to 10 gallons so for a 3 gallon wading pool I thought it would work wonderfully. Right off the bat I had a very hard time getting the lid off. There are 2 slider tabs on either side of the lid that you are supposed to move opposite of each other to open and then close, but no matter what combo I tried I couldn't get it open for a good 5 minutes. The media it comes with is too much for the filter, there are some loose ceramic rings and a bag of carbon that sit on one end, and a large foam cylinder on the other end, I had to push really hard and shake it to get the ceramic rigs to nestle enough so the carbon bag would sit on top and I could actually get the lid on it. They do not give you enough tubing, now the motor is not strong so it tells you to place this filter level with the tank or water you are filtering (which I did) but the tubes would just barely make it into my turtle’s terrarium and into the wading pool. I had to adjust the spray bar as well and siliconed the holes shut to get more of a flow out of it. Once I filled it with water and started it all I ever got was a trickle, never got a good flow out of it-ever. The intake was well covered, but air would keep getting into the system and I would walk up to my turtle and hear grinding as the little canister was 1/4 filled with air. After a week of this I just gave up on it and pulled it out. It may work better for a nano tank, but I didn't like the poor design so I wouldn't recommend this unless you are going to custom everything on it. Straight out of the box it doesn't work.

Rating: 4
Product Details: "Nano 501" by Tiari - posted: Wed March 27, 2013 - Rating: **** 4.00
Last Review Posted by Boundava - posted: Thu November 20, 2014 8:32am [ Post a Review
Eheim_Classics.jpg

Views: 9120

I purchased a 2217 because my current canister filters were sucking in air and I had to adjust them on a daily basis. I was looking for a good quality filter and had always heard that Eheim was the best, just couldn't afford it when I first bought my canister filters years ago. Looking at the Eheim classic series the first thing that really caught me was the fact that unlike every other canister filter I have seen, this filter has the IN?OUT at opposite ends of the canister. What a concept, to actually get the water to flow through the media and not around it! As I read the reviews I did see some cautions on priming, but looking at the design versus the filters I currently had-I saw very little room for air to leak in and the smart flow, big intake and spray bar sold me! That and there was a sale at the online site I bought this filter at. As soon as I set this up in tandem with the two other filters I had on my 55 gallon tank I noticed an improvement in water quality-it was clearer. My other canister filters would shoot water out and it added a nice current but sometimes quantity is not the same a quality. The Eheim does a decent job with current, but I appreciate the fact that the water is pushed through the media and if this makes it slower flow-then I am all for it! Also the advertised gph on all Eheim filters is with a fully filled canister, the same cannot be said of the advertised speeds on other canister filters where the water moves around the media, not through it. Suffice to say I love the first 2217 so much that when it had been up and running for 2 months I ditched the old canisters and bought myself another 2217, seeded it with the biological media from my old canister filters and now have 2 running on my 75 gallon tank. I will not go back to any other canister filter, ever! As for priming, the first time I set it up on my 55, it was a little difficult, youtube has some great tricks to make it easy. Once you have it primed the first time, if you follow the same steps the next time it is self starting. I know as i had to take it a part a couple times while I moved from a 55 gallon to a 75 gallon, and even with the canister being only a foot under the temporary storage "tanks" the filter never had a problem priming after I disconnected it-even when the intake/output tubing was dry. Love the Eheim 2217 classic 600 canister filter, I hope it loves me too for years to come!

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Classic Line Canister Filters" by ILuvMyGoldBarb - posted: Mon June 16, 2008 - Rating: ********* 9.17
Last Review Posted by dragoonwoman - posted: Mon September 15, 2014 10:24am [ Post a Review
Fluval_06_box.jpg

Views: 7146

Have a 206 model which was working great, until it suddenly developed a leak. Can't figure out where it's coming from - have opened and closed the filter several times, cleaned the gasket around the top, changed media - no luck in stopping the drip. Changed back to my old Rena Filstar XP1 to keep my tank going.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "Fluval 06 Series" by bignellm - posted: Thu January 26, 2012 - Rating: ********* 8.60
Last Review Posted by Boundava - posted: Wed August 20, 2014 10:16am [ Post a Review
stability.jpg

Views: 5646

I use this when I clean out my filters, when I do a water change or after I medicate. It helps to keep my tank sable by helping with bacterial fluctuations. I love Seachem and use their line of products for my plants as well as Prime, which is AWESOME and efficient as all heck!

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Stability" by drubeeber - posted: Thu May 1, 2008 - Rating: ********* 8.85
Last Review Posted by bcarrot - posted: Thu July 31, 2014 2:02pm [ Post a Review


Views: 3303

I recently purchased the following food Ken's food: Ken's Premium Tropical Fish Flake Ken's Premium Color Max Flake Ken's Premium Immune Booster Flake Ken's Premium Betta Pellets 1.5mm Ken's Premium Super Color Pellets 1.5mm My fish go CRAAAAAZY for it! It's like watching a mini shark feeding frenzy. I would highly recommend any of the food listed above (though I'm confident all food by Ken's is good).

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Premium flake,pellet, crumbles" by Algenco - posted: Mon March 2, 2009 - Rating: ********** 10.00
Last Review Posted by Compass - posted: Mon July 28, 2014 11:14am [ Post a Review


Views: 3923

I run two AC50s in my river tank using a manifold system. They work very well to push a lot of water. Because this tank is cold water in a cool area of the house, any heat put off by the pumps is nominal. The attachment to hang this powerhead off the side of the tank is very flimsy and probably only usable if attached to a UGF to prop it up. Advertised as adjustable flow rate. Really it only has two settings. High and not so high.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "AquaClear Powerhead" by Halelorf - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ****** 6.44
Last Review Posted by Compass - posted: Mon July 28, 2014 10:59am [ Post a Review
Omegaone.jpg

Views: 8767

You open the can for the first time and you can just smell the goodness! All my fish take it with exception to the bottom dwellers, but that is to be expected. Flakes stay on top for a good long time unless hit by the filter outtake. A few bits can be chunky and hard. Like they are stuck together. But there isn't a lot of this and shouldn't deter you for getting it.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Tropical Freshwater Flake Food" by NickFish - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ********* 8.85
Last Review Posted by AquariGod - posted: Tue May 27, 2014 6:35pm [ Post a Review
Coralife.jpg

Views: 6037

Pretty decent skimmer, exactly what you would expect. it works well, and it's not noisy unless your water level is too low. Otherwise, it does it's job, and it does it well.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "skimmer" by waterhog - posted: Mon December 22, 2008 - Rating: ********* 8.67
Last Review Posted by bbriggt - posted: Sun April 13, 2014 7:08am [ Post a Review
p_21212_28576P.jpg

Views: 2855

The unit is easy to install and adjust to mix surface and deeper flow. Even with the skimmer adjusted for lower surface flow it cleans up the surface in less than an hour in my 55 gallon tank. The surface skimmer floating part can be sucked down into the unit if you switch the filter off then on for any reason. I've found it better to adjust for a little less flow from the top than the maximum to avoid having this happen. Once adjusted for the flow rate of your external filter the skimmer works fairly well but could use a few minor improvements. I have some trouble with the skimmer portion fouling on the aquarium rim and slightly longer stand-offs on the suction cups would fix that easily enough. What would be great is if there were longer body lengths available to allow water to be taken from further down in the water column.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "Aquarium Surface Skimmer" by ridgenesss - posted: Wed March 28, 2012 - Rating: ******* 7.00
Next Page »

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.