Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

» : 20 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review Posted by bbriggt - posted: Sun April 13, 2014 7:08am [ Post a Review
p_21212_28576P.jpg

Views: 1844

The unit is easy to install and adjust to mix surface and deeper flow. Even with the skimmer adjusted for lower surface flow it cleans up the surface in less than an hour in my 55 gallon tank. The surface skimmer floating part can be sucked down into the unit if you switch the filter off then on for any reason. I've found it better to adjust for a little less flow from the top than the maximum to avoid having this happen. Once adjusted for the flow rate of your external filter the skimmer works fairly well but could use a few minor improvements. I have some trouble with the skimmer portion fouling on the aquarium rim and slightly longer stand-offs on the suction cups would fix that easily enough. What would be great is if there were longer body lengths available to allow water to be taken from further down in the water column.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "Aquarium Surface Skimmer" by ridgenesss - posted: Wed March 28, 2012 - Rating: ******* 7.00
Last Review Posted by Compass - posted: Mon March 17, 2014 3:07pm [ Post a Review
eco-complete_for_review_Large_.jpg

Views: 14484

I like what I've seen with my plant growth vs. just your average aquarium gravel. A few times my stem plants would pop out of the substrate before they had a chance to root and that became frustrating.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Eco-Complete" by doug z - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ******** 7.83
Last Review Posted by Compass - posted: Mon March 17, 2014 3:03pm [ Post a Review
hagenaquaclear70.jpg

Views: 32650

Great for smaller tanks if you are not wanting to invest in a canister filter.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "AquaClear HOB filters" by Incredulous_Ed - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ********* 9.32
Last Review Posted by pRED - posted: Mon February 24, 2014 11:36am [ Post a Review


Views: 74

The trap door and clamp can be tricky. It has be be on the smallest setting or it can dump way too much! On the smallest opening I would have it make multiple turns to get the correct quantity. It worked well for me while on 10 day trip.
Product Details: "AquaChef -automatic fish feeder" by pRED - posted: Mon February 24, 2014 - Rating:
Last Review Posted by pRED - posted: Mon February 24, 2014 11:24am [ Post a Review
Eheim-Automatic-Fish-Feeder.jpg

Views: 3931

I like the design of resting on flat surface compared to others that clamp onto the tank's rim. It is easy to program. It does take awhile tho to figure out the tumbler to your desired amount of food, but with multible programming options, it's easy to compensate for variety of foods too. I use mine only for vacations and always use new batteries.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Eheim Everyday Fish Feeder" by Trillianne - posted: Thu June 23, 2011 - Rating: ******* 6.75
Last Review Posted by pRED - posted: Sat February 8, 2014 6:31pm [ Post a Review
hikari_freeze_dried_blood_worms_350.jpg

Views: 2226

Great snack for most all tropical fish, and they love them.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "freeze dried bloodworms" by The Red Severum - posted: Sun November 16, 2008 - Rating: ********* 9.08
Last Review Posted by pRED - posted: Sat February 8, 2014 6:28pm [ Post a Review
1076.jpg

Views: 12129

I use Gold, along with the Staple as staple diet for my EBJD. Will not cloud water, some waste when eating, but his tankmates benefit from scraps!

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Cichlid Gold" by Incredulous_Ed - posted: Tue April 29, 2008 - Rating: ******** 8.17
Last Review Posted by pRED - posted: Sat February 8, 2014 6:23pm [ Post a Review


Views: 80

I was surprised by how big the container of fish flakes was (8 oz), when it arrived, and also surprised by how big the individual flakes were. They are a good value and good product. My fish love them!
Product Details: "Tropical Flakes" by pRED - posted: Sat February 8, 2014 - Rating:
Last Review Posted by pRED - posted: Sat February 8, 2014 6:11pm [ Post a Review


Views: 88

It was cheap, so I bought it to replace incandescent fixture. Don't waste your money on this one. It suffices but You will not be impressed. Buy a Current LED instead.
Product Details: "Single Bright LED Lighting System" by pRED - posted: Sat February 8, 2014 - Rating:
Last Review Posted by pRED - posted: Sat February 8, 2014 6:02pm [ Post a Review


Views: 96

This sand is dense and therefore easy to keep clean as most debris will not penetrate. Also good for my plants.
Product Details: "Instant Aquarium Freshwater Substrate (Sunset Gold)" by pRED - posted: Sat February 8, 2014 - Rating:
Next Page »

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.