Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

» : 20 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review Posted by Fishan - posted: Fri March 4, 2016 8:32pm [ Post a Review
31djqCArrwL_SL500_AA200_.jpg

Views: 21447

I'm not a real fan of HOB filters. This came as part of a kit I used as a quick nursery for a musk turtle who was pregnant. Overall, I think it was a good filter. I had to replace the filter cartridges weekly, but in fairness turtles are pretty messy.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "Aquarium Power Filters" by xasuma - posted: Tue February 16, 2010 - Rating: ******** 8.33
Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Sat February 6, 2016 8:35pm [ Post a Review
test_kit.jpg

Views: 11530

This kit is one of the best investments you'll make...especially if you're testing for multiple aquariums. The only thing it lacks is a syringe to help get the correct amount of water in the tube more easily

Rating: 9
Product Details: "master freshwater test kit" by angelcakes - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ********** 9.61
Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Mon January 25, 2016 8:07pm [ Post a Review
magfloat.jpg

Views: 23330

Basically, an overpriced magnet wrapped in felt with a plastic handle. It often won't clean on the first swipe, and the sudden motion of it may startle some fish. Also, if you happen to get sand/gravel trapped in it by passing too close to the bottom, you can scratch the aquarium. The biggest thing Magfloat has going for it is convenience: you don't have to get wet to clean the tank.

Rating: 7
Product Details: "Mag Float" by The Red Severum - posted: Tue December 9, 2008 - Rating: ********* 8.55
Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Mon January 25, 2016 6:35pm [ Post a Review
015905060899C.jpg

Views: 13927

Best investment I ever made! Water changes used to be an ordeal, hauling buckets up and down stairs, and could take hours. Now I can do WC on 2 tanks in just 30 minutes! Only caution is that depending on the model of your sink faucet/shower head, you may need to purchase a different type adapter than the one included in the packet

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Aqueon Aquarium Water Changer" by aji1217 - posted: Mon January 25, 2010 - Rating: ********* 9.00
Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Mon January 25, 2016 6:23pm [ Post a Review
55G.jpg

Views: 8597

Very well constructed and will have a long life if treated well; the silicon is easy to clean up if you get a 'sloppy' one, a small price to pay, I think. All but one of my glass aquariums are Aqueon, and for good reason. Can't beat the price, either...

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Standard sized glass aquariums" by Cliff - posted: Tue October 12, 2010 - Rating: ********** 9.50
Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Mon January 25, 2016 6:18pm [ Post a Review
312B-hn5AyL_SL500_AA200_.jpg

Views: 8801

I got this to replace an older model 10i (the one with the external motor), because the motor kept randomly detaching from the housing. The updated version runs like a dream...

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Whisper 10i In-Tank Filter - for 2 to 10 Gallon" by xasuma - posted: Mon February 22, 2010 - Rating: ********* 8.83
Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Mon January 25, 2016 6:12pm [ Post a Review
Eheim_Classics.jpg

Views: 10285

Hands down, this is the quietest filter I've ever owned. The canister holds LOTS of media (I was able to fill it with the media from my old filter and all the new media, and still have a bit of room left over), and it's easy to customize to your media needs. Only reason it lost a point was because the so-called set-up instructions that come with it are pretty much useless; they only show what parts you're supposed to have, but not how most of them connect to each other, and no explanation at all about how to divide the tubing (or the mention that you may need a hacksaw/pipe cutter/utility knife to complete the installation). For a first-timer to canister filters, this can be VERY confusing.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Classic Line Canister Filters" by ILuvMyGoldBarb - posted: Mon June 16, 2008 - Rating: ********* 9.16
Last Review Posted by Fishan - posted: Fri January 22, 2016 4:37pm [ Post a Review


Views: 20436

I have owned three of these for my 75gal. The first one I bought was missing the filter media and I suspected it had been previously returned to the store. It lasted less than 24 hours before the pump quit. The store replaced it and the second one lasted about two years before a power surge took it out. The filter is very easy to clean, the shut off valve for intake/output hoses makes it all worth it. There are other more expensive filters with this feature that are implemented much more poorly. They lower the water mess when changing things out and keep the filter primed so no more tank water tasting. The filter media is a little pricey, but the baskets have no special design to them. You can easily use different media. The only downside I see is that the pump seems to get bogged down easily. Water flow diminishes rapidly. All over a good product and probably the best bang for your buck.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Rena Filstar Canister Filter" by Halelorf - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ********* 9.06
Last Review Posted by Fishan - posted: Thu January 21, 2016 8:35pm [ Post a Review
filtration_cutout.png

Views: 7501

I have used three of these on a 20 gal. tall turtle tank and when this one burns out I will buy a fourth. The tank is about 5 years old and though I have gone through three of them, I would rate them as durable. The abuse these filters can take is impressive. Being in a turtle tank, I keep the water level lower than the recommended level for the filter and it still works fine. They are a little louder than the old style Whisper filters, but the water noise is louder than the pump for me. If you get one of the filters with the "timer" on it don't bother with it. The only reason I don't rate this product a ten is that the intake tubes do not like to stay together. They stay together for about two days at best for me before you see the tubes laying in the tank. With full disclosure, it could be the turtles pulling it apart at night. They like to arrange the tank as they see fit.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "whisper ex" by waterhog - posted: Mon December 22, 2008 - Rating: ******** 8.17
Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Tue January 19, 2016 7:55pm [ Post a Review


Views: 204

At $17 for a 25# bag, I find this a better deal cost-wise than any of the store brands' I've tried. And Estes' proprietary sealing method really does work. I rinsed each bucket of gravel once before putting it in the tank...and after I filled up, there was no particulate matter suspended in the water. Perfectly clear, with a minimum amount of fuss! It comes in a variety of colors too, so you can pick the one that best suits your needs. I mixed the nutmeg & walnut together, and it looks great! Only downside is that it can sometimes be difficult to find. Few stores that I've seen keep it in stock...though it can be ordered online.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Spectrastone Nature Blends" by cajunqn81 - posted: Tue January 19, 2016 - Rating: ********** 10.00
Next Page »

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.