Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Buy & Sell
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal

  AC news is a part of
      Nature Blog Network

      Reef Aquarium Blog

Privacy & Ad Policy

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

» : 160 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Mon March 16, 2015 5:52pm [ Post a Review


Views: 52

This heater doesn't take up much room in an aquarium, being less than 6" in length. It's great for a small aquarium, but not really practical if you have anything larger than about 7 gal.
Product Details: "C Series" by cajunqn81 - posted: Mon March 16, 2015 - Rating:
Last Review Posted by angelcraze2 - posted: Fri March 13, 2015 1:34am [ Post a Review
small_fish_formula.jpg

Views: 10950

I don't know why this is after reading others' comments, but I feed juvie angelfish this food, and they are hardcore top feeders. Maybe Spectrum changed the formulation? If I want them to sink, I release the food below the waterline. I place the food gently on top of the water. No problems with me.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Small Fish Formula" by doug z - posted: Wed December 3, 2008 - Rating: ********* 9.07
Last Review Posted by angelcraze2 - posted: Fri March 13, 2015 1:26am [ Post a Review
41G7IyZIpHL_SL500_AA280_.jpg

Views: 8311

Spectrum 'grow' 0.5 pellets have more protein and fiber and about twice as much fat as their 'small fish' formula. The growing fish get more nutrients they require. Feeding the fish more often, in small doses and keeping them in pristine water will help them to grow faster, this product just makes a staple food more convenient to feed often as opposed to live or frozen foods. I personally don't have a problem with the advertizing, but it doesn't leave you off the hook for taking good care of fry.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Grow" by Incredulous_Ed - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ******** 8.40
Last Review Posted by angelcraze2 - posted: Thu March 12, 2015 3:50pm [ Post a Review
41G7IyZIpHL_SL500_AA280_.jpg

Views: 8311

Spectrum 'grow' 0.5 pellets have more protein and fiber and about twice as much fat as their 'small fish' formula. The growing fish get more nutrients they require. Feeding the fish more often, in small doses and keeping them in pristine water will help them to grow faster, this product just makes a staple food more convenient to feed often as opposed to live or frozen foods. I personally don't have a problem with the advertizing, but it doesn't leave you off the hook for taking good care of fry.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Grow" by Incredulous_Ed - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ******** 8.40
Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Mon February 23, 2015 7:45pm [ Post a Review
hikari.jpg

Views: 5227

My corys love these, it causes a feeding frenzy when I drop them in the tank! And the tetras have been nibbling at them a bit too, though not as much.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "tropical algae wafers" by angelcakes - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: ********* 8.63
Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Wed February 18, 2015 2:10pm [ Post a Review
31IjQ1VfpKL_SL500_AA200_.jpg

Views: 10759

I got a free sample of this, and I'm so glad I didn't actually pay for it. The ingredients are only so-so, and my fish turned tail on this unless it was the only food offered. Probably just as well, because the smell of it was awful. The only part of its advertising it really lived up to was that it didn't cloud the water.

Rating: 3
Product Details: "TetraMin Flakes" by Incredulous_Ed - posted: Mon April 28, 2008 - Rating: **** 4.00
Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Wed February 18, 2015 12:51pm [ Post a Review
filtration_cutout.png

Views: 7071

I definitely liked the flow rate on this, it's great for heavily stocked tanks or when you need a fair amount of circulation. However, mine did not run as quietly as expected based on previous experience with the brand...disappointing in this regard. The so-called 'timer' also never worked properly, though that wasn't as much of a problem since I rarely use carbon filtration. I've also had some issues with the intake coming loose.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "whisper ex" by waterhog - posted: Mon December 22, 2008 - Rating: ******** 8.00
Last Review Posted by cajunqn81 - posted: Wed February 18, 2015 12:22pm [ Post a Review
eheim_heater.jpg

Views: 13175

I bought this to replace another heater that was malfunctioning/not keeping temperature well. Other than the difficulty of getting the dial to turn (much harder than other models I've used), I'm quite pleased. Great value!

Rating: 9
Product Details: "2nd Generation" by gadget228 - posted: Thu August 12, 2010 - Rating: ********* 9.14
Last Review Posted by James` - posted: Sun February 8, 2015 11:02am [ Post a Review
240579_1_.jpg

Views: 6897

I seriously like the new and improved nano design

Rating: 9
Product Details: "koralia nano" by smaug - posted: Fri October 2, 2009 - Rating: ********* 8.75
Last Review Posted by Boundava - posted: Thu November 20, 2014 9:01am [ Post a Review


Views: 1513

I had purchased this for my 3-toed box turtles wading pool that I had built out of Styrofoam and Drylok. It was specified for up to 10 gallons so for a 3 gallon wading pool I thought it would work wonderfully. Right off the bat I had a very hard time getting the lid off. There are 2 slider tabs on either side of the lid that you are supposed to move opposite of each other to open and then close, but no matter what combo I tried I couldn't get it open for a good 5 minutes. The media it comes with is too much for the filter, there are some loose ceramic rings and a bag of carbon that sit on one end, and a large foam cylinder on the other end, I had to push really hard and shake it to get the ceramic rings to nestle enough so the carbon bag would sit on top and I could actually get the lid on it. They do not give you enough tubing, now the motor is not strong so it tells you to place this filter level with the tank or water you are filtering (which I did) but the tubes would just barely make it into my turtle’s terrarium and into the wading pool. I had to adjust the spray bar as well and siliconed the holes shut to get more of a flow out of it. Once I filled it with water and started it all I ever got was a trickle, never got a good flow out of it-ever. The intake was well covered, but air would keep getting into the system and I would walk up to my turtle and hear grinding as the little canister was 1/4 filled with air. After a week of this I just gave up on it and pulled it out. It may work better for a nano tank, but I didn't like the poor design so I wouldn't recommend this unless you are going to custom everything on it. Straight out of the box it doesn't work.

Rating: 4
Product Details: "Nano 501" by Tiari - posted: Wed March 27, 2013 - Rating: **** 4.00
Next Page »

Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.