· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Default New Aquarium Owner! Cycling Help

0 Not allowed!
    Hi. I'm completely new to the tropical fish hobbie but i've been reading countless amounts of information on the dos and don'ts. Ok, I set up my 60ltr aquarium last Saturday and I used Nutrafin Cycle that came with the tank. I used it for the first three days as indicated. I got a huge bacteria bloom that lasted about three days. Yesterday morning I woke up and noticed that the water was significantly clearer and today it's almost crystal. I don't have any fish yet as I want to cycle the tank before they're added. I've been putting in some fish food flakes as advised in order to add some ammonia. I've been putting in a few drops of flakes for the past three days. The food doesn't seem to be decomposing though, so I've stopped because It will start to build up. For the first time, I checked the water today just to see where I was in the cycle. Here are the results:

Ammonia: 0.5/1.0
    Nitrate: 0
    Nitrite: 0
    PH: 7.6

I know that these aren't the desired conditions for fish just yet. Can anyone tell me how far I might be into the cycle based on that or if I need to do a water change, also any tips on what might speed things up.

Thanks so much.

2. Default

0 Not allowed!
    You're just starting your cycle. From what i've heard on this forum, ammonia eating bacteria and nitrAte eating bacteria grow first. the NitrIte eating bacteria take longer to grow.

How many gallons is your tank? that also affects how long your cycle may take sometimes. Also it may help you to read Lady Hobbs's Cycling Stickies.
    6 gal column- 1 powder blue dwarf gourami, 1 bronze cory, and one nerite snail, planted.
    10 gal - 2 F celebus rainbows, 3 ghost shrimp, 1 nerite snail, 1 mystery snail, planted
    10 gal #2 - 6 flame tetras, 1 ornate tetra, 1 nerite snail, and 1 emperor tetra planted