· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fish not active

1. Default Fish not active

0 Not allowed!
    Hey guys I have inherited a 45 gallon tank that's been established for 10 years.

I've been caring for it for the past two years and do 25% water changes once a week and vacuum the gravel.

Fish:
    a.) 4 columbia tetras
    b.) 5 serpae tetras
    c.) 4 black skirt tetras
    d.) 1 5inch catfish
    e.) 2 chinese algae eaters

I've been watching youtube videos of people's tanks and notice how active the fish are. In my own tank, the fish typically hang out on one side and just hover.

I did a full test of pH, ammonia, nitrate, and nitrite and everything was in normal range, with pH a little above normal at 7.6

So I'm not sure why they aren't as active. I have two powerheads and one has an aeration feature which creates a good amount of bubbles. I have one airstone.

The only thesis I can come up with is that the schools need to be larger?

Appreciate any advice.

2. Default

0 Not allowed!
    Did you use a liquid test kit? Please elaborate on normal range with numbers.

Maybe there is too much flow from the powerheads?

3. Default

0 Not allowed!
    I used the mater test kit from API. I didn't write down the numbers but they were all in the normal range, and yes it's a liquid test kit.

Is that a common problem of having too much water movement from the power heads? They are pointed towards the surface to provide agitation but it's possible the water is moving quite a bit.

0 Not allowed!
    Since you say your parameters are normal, I would go for one of the following two theories;