· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Canister Filter Questions (size)

0 Not allowed!
    I have a 29 gallon tank i have set up. I got it planted and have around 15 small fish, a frog, and a shrimp, and a few snails. I have been having algae bloom issues and i want to upgrade my filters from a cheap-o aqueon to a nice canister set up to see if that clears things up. I know i need to balance the water out but i am a newbie and i dont want to kill anything in the tank. I figured a good filter would help out al ot . Most of the filters (looking at the marineland magnum 350) say 55 gallons. Is this overkill for my 29 gallon or is there a way to throttle down the filter?

2. Default

0 Not allowed!
    i HAVE A MAGNUM 350 CANISTER FILTER and it does come with knobs to turn water flow down second off there is no such thing as overkill when it comes to filtration its always beter to have to much then not enough.Second off is your tank next to a window where the light shines on it that will also build up algie on the glass.Do you have a plec or anything that removes algie if not a b/n pleco is the best thing for that tank or 3-4 ochos would work to pics would help hope this helps a little
    Last edited by fishguy420; 10-21-2012 at 05:47 AM.
    fishguy420

Awards Showcase

hopefully this one shows up. - KingFisher It's the closest thing I could find to a snowflake. - Taurus Happy Birthday Girl. Wishing you many more. Ya thats why the Champagne is in play. hehehe - Strider199 For piping up - ~firefly~ Merry Christmas! - ~firefly~ 
    Merry Christmas - Cliff Merry Christmas - gadget228 Thank you and Happy Holidays! - KingFisher Merry x-mas and a Happy New Year Trillianne - Strider199 Happy New Year!!! - Rue