· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
  1. Default What to do about Algae...

0 Not allowed!
    I am new to the hobby and have a 29 gallon freshwater tank. I started this tank August 29th. It is still trying to cycle. The question I have here is about algae. I have brown algae starting to grow on the plastic plant tops and the decorations in the tank. Should I be concerned? Anything I should do about it?
    Thanks for all your help.
    Connie

0 Not allowed!
    What type of substate do you have? What type of lighting and how long are they on for? Is it spotty on the glass as well? What are your water parameters? Is this tank planted? Sounds like diatom algae to me.

0 Not allowed!
    Questions: are you cycling with fish or without? That's a long time to be cycling no matter what method you are using.

The brown algae is probably diatoms which are common in new tanks - they are harmless and should disappear after a few months.
    46 gal fw tank with black skirt tetras, neon tetras, spotted corys, cherry barbs, otoclinus, snails & 4 amano shrimp - plastic & live plants
    5 gal QT
    Remember: Our job is to take care of the water our fish live in

Awards Showcase

Happy Christmas - MuckyFish thanks for advising on vegetables for my kribs! so here is a discus - ScottishFish You help a lot - PhillipOrigami For the bank account, and thx for the rep - Cliff beautiful discus! - Crispy 
    I know this doesn't help but it's all I can do! - chrisfraser05 for all the wise advice you've given me - fishmommie Congrats on 2000th post! - andreahp Merry Christmas! - fishmommie Merry Christmas - Cliff 
    Thanks for the rep :-) - ~firefly~ appreciate it. - fishmommie Thanks for the birthday wishes - mommy1 ٩(̾●̮̮̃̾̃̾)۶ - korith For all the good advice you give. - ~firefly~