· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
  1. Default Wisteria - very long stems, roots appearing at "nodes" in the middle - how to plant??

0 Not allowed!
    Hi everyone,

I'm very new to plants and have gotten my hands on a number of 12"+ long wisteria plants. But I have no idea how to plant them - both ends of the stem have leaves on them, and the roots are appearing at "nodes" (if I'm using the term correctly) along the middle of the stalk, every 4" or so.

How do I plant this in the substrate?

Do I need to cut the plant near the rooted points and plant the roots into the substrate? I'm nervous of just cutting it up without a bit of guidance from the more experienced aquarists for fear of just killing it!

My tank is a 10g, so I need these plants to be more like 8" - 10" tall and growing from the substrate, instead of floating, as they currently are, and blocking out all the light!

Any input is appreciated. Thanks!
    "We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice." - Mamoru Oshii

Default If the growth is leggy, You need more light.

0 Not allowed!
    You can just cut them exactly where your common sense was telling you to and then plant them.

Decent light and substrate & some ferts and they will take right off.
    Gas mileage isn't everything OIIIIIIIO
    Lack of planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part.
    Why pretend there are no stupid questions? Actually, There are many stupid questions: "Should I drink this bleach?" Is just one example.
    Having said that, Just because it's a stupid question doesn't mean that it shouldn't be asked. It's better to know.

A warm beer is better than a cold beer. Because nothing is better than a cold beer, and a warm beer is better than nothing.

0 Not allowed!