· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Newbie takes on beard algae.

0 Not allowed!
    So I'm new to the fish world. Had a rough start with a goldfish and a 2 gallon tank. Learned some hard lessons along the way. The goldfish survived and got into his new 50 gallon tank.

I planted the tank with low light plants and added 3 applesnails. My fish crew made it through the cycle.

Ammonia 0
    Nitrites 0
    Nitrates 1

I'm finally at a place where I can enjoy the tank and not worry about hurting my fish.

Tonight I noticed some weird algae growing on my sword. I was able to rub it off. I decided I should figure out what it is. Yup.....beard algae

Plus now I've let it loose by rubbing it.

I'm not sure what to do. I've read through some posts but with snails in the tank I'm worried about using chemicals.

What's the best coarse of treatment for spores on loose? I can cut the leaves off the plant and turn the lights on for less hours.

But I mut say I'm a bit confused on how to balance out what's out of balance. Can someone dumb it down for a newbie?

Thanks

Awards Showcase

Thanks for the birthday wishes - mommy1 and gift - mommy1 Thanks for the rep - Cliff Thanks for the rep, have a cool one on me, Cheers - Cliff Thanks and a new fish for the tank - glarior 
    Thanks for the gorgeous slide show! - fishmommie Thanks for the rep the other day - Cliff It's a Sudbury Saturday Night, Cheers - Cliff Hockey finals can not be watched without a hockey pop or two - Cliff Thanks for the rep :) - Greentoads41 
    Thanks for the Rep!! - steeler1 Merry Christmas! - steeler1 Merry Christmas - Cliff May you be living as high as the holiday hog this coming year! - Trillianne Happy New Year - mommy1