· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
  1. Default Regarding Sphaerichthys selatanensis or the Crossband Chocolate Gourami?

0 Not allowed!
    I was researching how to keep Chocolate Gouramis but then I found out that my LFS had only S.Vaillanti. and S.Selatanensis. I never liked the Vaillant's Chocolate Gourami much. So I decided to keep Crossband Chocolates instead. Anyone here have experience with them? Also are their requirements similar to regular chocolates?

2. Default

0 Not allowed!
    My personal experience with crossbars was not entirely positive. Disclaimer: I'm by no means an expert; I can only tell you what happened with mine and what I found out from research. I'm not an expert fish keeper at all, but my boyfriend has mainly been in charge of my tank and he has a LOT of experience with freshwater fishkeeping. My LFS began to carry crossbar gourami (also called crossband or chocolate cherry gourami as far as I've heard) and as soon as I saw them, I fell in love; I thought they had really striking patterns. I got one and it thrived in my (30 gal) tank for a while. I read that they do better in groups so I added the last two my LFS had, but the first one bullied them pretty bad. I put the first one in a small tank while they adapted as they looked really stressed from the move and I wanted to eliminate any other stress that may be caused by the other gourami. The two died within 48 hours (they never really gained their colors back and honestly didn't seem very healthy from the start), but the first one I got still seemed to be doing very well when I put him back in. He died yesterday. It's possible the pH of my water was too hard; my tap water is about a 7.2-7.4, so the pH tends to stay on the harder side in my tank. They prefer really soft water.