· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

Thread: Frog shedding?

Hybrid View

1. Default Frog shedding?

0 Not allowed!
    I have a new dwarf aquatic frog, and it looks like he is shedding skin...is this normal? Could there be a problem, or a parasite that would look like that?

Thanks.
    20 gallon with a male betta, neons, glowlights, and red cherry shrimp. (work in progess) Recently added a few LIVE plants and driftwood, Woooohoooo!

2. Default

0 Not allowed!
    I'm no expert on frogs, but as a kid I had wild frogs I would catch in the yard and they would shed a lot... And then eat it!

0 Not allowed!
    ADF's will shed their skin, and then proceed to eat it. This is a regular event, and shouldn't be of any concern. Only if it sheds in pieces or, the frog seems to have sloughing off skin it can't remove should you worry.
    2 10 gallon tanks, 1 20 gallon tank, 1 Fluval Edge, 1 29 gallon tank, and one backyard pond.

4. Default

0 Not allowed!
    Ok good! I was worried, he is so cute!

Also, I've had him for almost a week now, and I haven't seen him eat...will they scavange off the ground for food? The food is gone but his betta tankmate seems clever enough to get it. He seems fine, definitely not lethargic.
    20 gallon with a male betta, neons, glowlights, and red cherry shrimp. (work in progess) Recently added a few LIVE plants and driftwood, Woooohoooo!

5. Default

0 Not allowed!
    the first time mine did this it looked like little ghost frog slime was floating in the tank... a little creepy but it reminds me of a snake shedding their skin underwater.
    5 gallon planted tank - 1 female betta and one HUGE mystery snail
    60 gallon planted community 3 marble lyretail mollies, 3 creamsicle mollies, 9 lampeye tetras, 5 bloodfin tetras, 4 black skirt tetras, 1 rubberlipped pleco, 3 peppered corys, 3 bumblebee catfish, 3 emerald green corydoras, 2 gold danios, and 2 giant danios

0 Not allowed!