· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

Thread: scarlet badis

1. Default scarlet badis

0 Not allowed!
    Hi, went to my local fish store today and they just got a shipment of a fish called the scarlet badis. The guy told me they are a rare fish to get and they dont get shipments on them very often. does anyone have any information about them? are they easy to care for? hardy? do well in a community tank?

0 Not allowed!
    I will tell you ahead that I have no personal experience with this fish, but I used to consider
    them for my tanks myself so I am welcome to share some research.

The scarlet badis does not seem to be much of a community dweller, because it is so small, gets easily outcompeted for food and mostly will only accept frozen or live foods versus prepared (convenient) foods. So you may want to keep them on their own or with tiny peaceful schoolers like microrasboras, etc.

They come from soft waters but are supposedly unfussy (as opposed to most dwarf cichlids) and you should be able to keep them at as low as 20°C. due to their timid nature they do appreciate plenty of cover. The males are territorial and should not be kept together in a small setup.

On a last note, many sources claim that most imported fish will be males, so you likely will not have any females if you bu a couple.

0 Not allowed!
    Profile:

http://www.seriouslyfish.com/species/dario-dario/

madagascariensis did get most of the profile correct.
    When in doubt, do a water change.

"This ain't rocket science!"

Awards Showcase

Merry Christmas Scottishfish - jeffs99dime Merry Christmas Douglas - Taurus Please enjoy this holiday hog! - Trillianne Have a super christmas! - Aeonflame Congrats on 1 year! - andreahp 
    Congrats on 1 year! - jeffs99dime Happy One-Year! - Rue Happy New Year! - ~firefly~ Thanks for the birthday wishes - mommy1 No Message - 850R