· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Lacy brown holes in leaves?

0 Not allowed!
    Hi there - I'm new to this forum so apologies if Ive not seen an obvious place where my question has already been answered -

I'm a true beginner to plants since I have quite a few live plants in my tank but I dont know what most of them are.

My problem is this. Some of my plants - what I think is a java fern, and another plant (with oval leaves, purple at the bottom and silver green on top), have recently been developing holes that start off as small lacy holes and quickly get bigger until the leaf turns brown and then shrivels completely. The holes start in the middle of the leaves, not around the edges.

I did a search and could not find anything obvious so I just removed all the leaves that showed damage and for a while things looked good, but now it is happening again.

I have a small freshwater aquarium - about 30 liters (8 gallons?) with a light that is supposed to be for aquarium plants - that I recently replaced so it's brand new. A fluval sponge filter. The tank has been pretty stable for about four years with no problems.

I dont think it is caused by any of the fish. I have an Angel, some Silver Tips, some Black Nuns, some Bronze Catfish, a small brown loach, and a tiny algea eater - a plec? who hardly ever disturbs the leaves. No snails that I can see.

I've tested the water for Ammonia and the test comes up perfectly clear - and I do a regular water change every week to replace about 1/4 of the water.

Any ideas what could cause this?

I'll try to get a photo of the damage in case that helps - let me post this in the mean time.

2. Default

0 Not allowed!
    Here is a picture (hope it works!):

3. Default

0 Not allowed!