· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default 2 tanks, what to put in what?

0 Not allowed!
    Hello there!

I'm a newbie and am a soon to be mom of 2 marine tanks...
    I have a 30 gal and a 90 gal w/sump. I've been doing ALOT of research and hopefully with the help of my LFS, I can pull off two healthy marine tanks. This is a hobby my dad and I have been interested in getting into for a while. SO...

We really want to have sea horses, coral, and fish. But according to the LFS owner, you can't just put fish with sea horses because the fish will starve them (getting to the food quicker). So I am wondering what I should put in each tank, and in which volume..ie should I put sea horses and reef/coral in the 30 gal or 90 gallon OR fish and reef in the 30 or 90, etc? What do you guys think? I know it's a while before I can add anything to the tanks since they have to cycle but I'm just not sure which to put in which, in order to make them all happy and healthy.

ALSO: Can anyone here list some coral/reef or inverts that are fairly cheap and do not multiply like mad? We are wanting the coral most, something vibrant and very pretty to look at.

0 Not allowed!
    so you are completely new to fishkeeping?
    it is advised to start out with freshwater since things are easier
    and cheaper if you make a mistake. After you are good with freshwater should you
    advance on to the "next level"

3. Default

0 Not allowed!
    Ehh..not an option. We've been researching for a few months and have visited our LFS several times to learn more. We had a 30gal freshwater tank for about 2 years but just wanted more. It's really the reef we are interested in.

0 Not allowed!
    I would suggest starting with one tank first. Set-up the 90 gallon as a reef tank and once you have a mature set-up, then consider setting up the 30 gallon.