· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
  1. Default New fish=aggressive play

0 Not allowed!
    I am fairly new to the aquarium world; I just cycled my tank maybe a month ago. Anyway, I have a 10g freshwater tank that has had a platy and a molly (and a hatchetfish that died about a week ago). Today I purchased another platy, a snail and some live plants and, ever since the additions, the existing platy has been acting aggressive toward the new one. Is this normal for a platy? If so, will it possibly go away?

By the way, my levels are all normal so, besides adding the plants, snail and platy and doing a partial water change today, they shouldn't be under any crazy amount of stress. I am, however, treating the tank with ich medication as a precaution because my hatchetfish had it but I only have a few more days of treatment left and none of the fish are experiencing any symptoms.

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Awards Showcase

Merry Christmas Scottishfish - jeffs99dime Merry Christmas Douglas - Taurus Please enjoy this holiday hog! - Trillianne Have a super christmas! - Aeonflame Congrats on 1 year! - andreahp 
    Congrats on 1 year! - jeffs99dime Happy One-Year! - Rue Happy New Year! - ~firefly~ Thanks for the birthday wishes - mommy1 No Message - 850R 
    Now THAT was a nice quiet beer... But now that we have had another... Let's go break stuff!! :-P - 850R Thanks for the rep/compliments! - mojosodope Thanks for the rep the other day, cheers - Cliff ...they go with snow, right? - ~firefly~ Thanks for the rep the other day - Cliff 
    Merry Christmas! - ~firefly~ Merry Christmas - Cliff Merry Christmas - mommy1 Merry Christmas - KingFisher Happy New Year - mommy1 

0 Not allowed!
    Sounds like you've got a male and a female, and the male is hassling the female.