· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Default Adding more gouramis? -need advice

0 Not allowed!
    I am new to the aquarium world and I'm trying to do as much research as I can. A few months ago I got a 29g tank and only had 5 danios (two zebra and 3 leopard) for a long time, to get the cycle going. I have two mopani logs (which horribly stained my water, still dealing with that), a live rock, and about 7-10 plants. About a week ago I added a powder blue, neon blue and a flame gourami, all dwarf. A few days ago I added 3 julii corycats to deal with the dead plant matter I have at the bottom of the tank (I'm considering adding a few more to their school).

All of that said, I'd like to have a few more gouramis. I really like opaline and pearl, but I'm not sure how they will assimilate with the other dwarves. Any advice? I really want to have a beautiful AND healthy/happy tank.

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Happy Birthday Bud. Cheers! - Strider199   Merry Xmas! Ill drink to that! - Sandz   Happy New Year! - jeffs99dime   Birthday Beer. - gadget228   Sending healing vibes to your Oscar - Silbar   
    Cancer - Epilepsy - Foster Care - Gynecological Cancer - Rett Syndrome - Brhino   

0 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by avfox12
    a live rock,
    "Live rock" is a saltwater concept that refers to rock (dead coral skeletons usually) populated by beneficial bacteria. I'm curious as to what exactly you've got in your freshwater tank.

About a week ago I added a powder blue, neon blue and a flame gourami, all dwarf.
    gourami (of any species) males will be territorial and aggressive toward one another. Assuming you have 3 males (which is likely as female dwarf gouramis are quite drab) you've got a problem brewing on your hands.

A few days ago I added 3 julii corycats to deal with the dead plant matter I have at the bottom of the tank