· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

Hybrid View

1. Default 300g Shark/Ray aquarium

0 Not allowed!
    This is the start of my first journal. I have been doing aquariums since 2000 and got invovled in saltwater 2008/2009 (I don't remember which year lol). I have learned a lot over the years and now want to take on something more advanced... sharks, rays and eels.

I highly recommend the book "Aquarium Sharks & Rays: An Essential Guide to Their Selection, Keeping, and Natural History" by Scott W. Michael

The setup at this time:

• 6ft x 3ft x 27" aquarium with black backing
    • ~400lbs of fine grain sand plus ~100lbs of my current live sand
    • Live rock - unsure how much at this time.
    • Sump - in debate with bioballs, live rock and/or fluidized sand bed (what you think?)
    • LED lights - trying to figure out how many LED's to use
    • Octopus skimmer for 300g
    • Algae scrubber - May 1st is the release date of Santa Monica's new design/patent. Can't wait!
    • simple stand

[LIST=1]
    step 1: locate the current 75g aquarium and rebuild/reinforce the floor.

step 2: bring home stand and figure out how to move the aquarium inside the house

step 3: if step 2 is successful I will bring the aquarium home with bulk supply of salt

step 4: install aquarium, plumbing, wait 2-3 days for the RO/DI filter to fill the aquarium.

step 5: let aquarium run for a while and add my lion, eel and puffer to the aquarium

step 6: this will happen when I think the aquarium is ready and matured, relocate puffer to reef tank, introduce shark/ray.

step 7: ultimate challenge/goal, have the sharks/rays reproduce!

Wow, seems so simple right?
    300g + 240g in wall build! - Follow Here
    120g SW Reef, LED lights, cool fish and corals!

0 Not allowed!
    Sounds like an awesome tank project but I know of no sharks or rays that could go in a 300 gallon.

3. Default

0 Not allowed!