· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Making a custom tree/rock background

0 Not allowed!
    Sup guys. I've seen many videos on YouTube and have seen the nice work done by Alasse. I am currently in the process of making a 3d background for my 65g tank. I am almost to the stage where I can apply the colored cement to it but I am having some trouble on finding a good sealer for the cement that is going to be fish safe. If anyone knows of any, please let me know. I have tried looking up the Crommelin Waterproof Pond Sealer that Alasse used but cant seem to find it anywhere in the US. I know of Pond Armor, but its really expensive. Could I use a regular grout sealer and just make sure it cures well?

I will be posting pictures of how my background is coming along shortly.

2. Default

0 Not allowed!
    Here are some pictures of the 3D background my mom and I have been working on the past 2 days (about 10 hours)

Tomorrow I will start the cement process and update you guys on how that is going. I plan on doing at least 3 coats of cement with each coat drying overnight then add at least 2 coats of grout sealer.

3. Default

0 Not allowed!
    You can seal with Epoxy, it is expensive too though. My next background (which will be soon i hope) will be using West Systems Epoxy as a sealer

Love the foam work, cant wait to see the finished product!
    Lots of tanks
    Camera - Sony A33 - Sony A58
    18-55mm F3.5-5.6 SAM lens
    55-200mm F4-5.6 SAM lens

4. Default

0 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Alasse
    You can seal with Epoxy, it is expensive too though. My next background (which will be soon i hope) will be using West Systems Epoxy as a sealer

Love the foam work, cant wait to see the finished product!