Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Calculators
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,060

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    you need some fishies with your ribbons - Lady Hobbs   coreys need company - Lady Hobbs   Celebrating my first batch of bred shrimp! - kurly   Because I love my Bolivian Rams :D - kurly   So my first Bolivian won't get lonely - kurly   
    Myasthenia Gravis - Ovarian Cancer - Sexual Assault - Substance Abuse - kurly   Alzheimer's - Crohn's & Colitis - Cystic Fibrosis - Domestic Violence - Fibromyalgia - Leimyosarcoma - Lupus - kurly   Anti-Tobacco - Colon Cancer - Colorectal Cancer - kurly   Breast Cancer - Birth Parents - kurly   Adoptee - Bone Cancer - Child Exploitation and Abuse - Hope and Support - Peace - Retinoblastoma - Right to Life - Student Sexual Assault - kurly   

    Default PH Dropping in my QT... Help Please


    0 Not allowed!
    I've got my newly purchased Harlequin Rasboras in my QT. I was able to add a sponge from my main tank in the filter for the QT, however, I also added the new sponge that came with the new filter I bought for my QT because the compartment needed more media.

    My problem is this.... the PH in the QT keeps dropping from 6.8 to 6.0 and maybe even lower within a day or two. I'm thinking it has to do with the new sponge I also put in the filter. I did a water change early yesterday morning and just checked all parameters. Results are... ammonia 0 nitrIte 0 and nitrAte 0 PH 6.0 (PH was 6.6 immediately after water change yesterday)

    I'm concerned about the PH dropping as it is in the QT. The Rasboras are active, eating, and swimming all over the place so it doesn't appear that the drop in PH is affecting them. Their color is okay as well but I'm still concerned.

    The PH in my main tank remains steady at 6.8 My concern is the low PH in my QT and also what will happen when I moved them over from my QT to the main tank. I'm going to drip acclimate them to the main tank when that time comes so I guess my main question is what about the PH in the QT and what to do about it? I know not to mess with it but I want to make sure nothing happens to the fish in there right now.
    Last edited by kurly; 01-13-2012 at 12:34 AM.
    10 Gallon: Planted Red Cherry Shrimp
    65 Gallon: Planted South American Community
    30 Gallon: Planted Bolivian Ram Tank




    Reduce The Stress....Cycle Fishless!

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MIssouri
    Posts
    3,692

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Welcome back! - Slaphppy7   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Wait, so did you add this new sponge in addition to the one you already had in the filter or did you replace the original one?

    From what you describe, it sounds like there's more of a problem with the tank not being cycled than the pH - you list 0's for all your parameters?

    If you replaced your sponge, chances are good you've lost any bacteria you had in the filter (assuming it was cycled) unless you kept other media in there.

    Sounds like your fish are doing fine but I would keep an eye on the ammonia level if what I've mentioned is the case.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Cent. NJ
    Posts
    673

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    You needed one! - korith   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by andreahp
    Wait, so did you add this new sponge in addition to the one you already had in the filter or did you replace the original one?

    From what you describe, it sounds like there's more of a problem with the tank not being cycled than the pH - you list 0's for all your parameters?

    If you replaced your sponge, chances are good you've lost any bacteria you had in the filter (assuming it was cycled) unless you kept other media in there.

    Sounds like your fish are doing fine but I would keep an eye on the ammonia level if what I've mentioned is the case.

    Well its a QT, don't most QTs only run when needed. And filter media is just added? (which basically auto-cycles tank)

    unless of course he replaced like you suggested
    RIP Shark Bait, my Red Tail Shark :(

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,060

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    you need some fishies with your ribbons - Lady Hobbs   coreys need company - Lady Hobbs   Celebrating my first batch of bred shrimp! - kurly   Because I love my Bolivian Rams :D - kurly   So my first Bolivian won't get lonely - kurly   
    Myasthenia Gravis - Ovarian Cancer - Sexual Assault - Substance Abuse - kurly   Alzheimer's - Crohn's & Colitis - Cystic Fibrosis - Domestic Violence - Fibromyalgia - Leimyosarcoma - Lupus - kurly   Anti-Tobacco - Colon Cancer - Colorectal Cancer - kurly   Breast Cancer - Birth Parents - kurly   Adoptee - Bone Cancer - Child Exploitation and Abuse - Hope and Support - Peace - Retinoblastoma - Right to Life - Student Sexual Assault - kurly   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I added the new sponge in addition to extra sponge I pulled out of my main tank. I needed to do this in order to fill the media compartment of the new filter. (Fellow AQ members advised it was okay to do so since the bulk of my media is already from a cycled tank which I thought was okay as well)

    The water parameters are 0 ammonia, 0 Nitrite and 0 nitrate because I did a partial water change yesterday to pick up some of the excess food left on the bare bottom of the tank after feeding.

    Don't know why the PH is dropping in the QT... makes no sense to me at all.
    Last edited by kurly; 01-13-2012 at 01:36 AM.
    10 Gallon: Planted Red Cherry Shrimp
    65 Gallon: Planted South American Community
    30 Gallon: Planted Bolivian Ram Tank




    Reduce The Stress....Cycle Fishless!

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MIssouri
    Posts
    3,692

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Welcome back! - Slaphppy7   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Oh yeah - that's what I do to run my QT - I keep a filter in my main tank until needed. I think kurly is worrying too much about the pH though.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,060

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    you need some fishies with your ribbons - Lady Hobbs   coreys need company - Lady Hobbs   Celebrating my first batch of bred shrimp! - kurly   Because I love my Bolivian Rams :D - kurly   So my first Bolivian won't get lonely - kurly   
    Myasthenia Gravis - Ovarian Cancer - Sexual Assault - Substance Abuse - kurly   Alzheimer's - Crohn's & Colitis - Cystic Fibrosis - Domestic Violence - Fibromyalgia - Leimyosarcoma - Lupus - kurly   Anti-Tobacco - Colon Cancer - Colorectal Cancer - kurly   Breast Cancer - Birth Parents - kurly   Adoptee - Bone Cancer - Child Exploitation and Abuse - Hope and Support - Peace - Retinoblastoma - Right to Life - Student Sexual Assault - kurly   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I thought a drop in PH from 6.8 to under 6.0 is a pretty big swing (it's probably lower because it is barely yellow). Just want to make sure that nothing will happen to them because of it and also that it won't affect them when I eventually move them over to the main tank.

    Ya never know with this hobby. Rather be safe than sorry
    10 Gallon: Planted Red Cherry Shrimp
    65 Gallon: Planted South American Community
    30 Gallon: Planted Bolivian Ram Tank




    Reduce The Stress....Cycle Fishless!

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Red Deer, AB, Canada
    Posts
    1,783

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    You need gifts!!  Happy New Year! :) - Ellen4God   Thanks for the heads up on tank size - Intentional or not  :-P - 850R   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    hmmmm. did you check your kH? that might be your problem. try placing crushed corals or just baking soda to buffer up your kH and pH for the meantime.

    what is the temp in your tank? how big is your QT? and how many rasboras?

    and yes, 6.8 to 6.0 is a really big swing. every .1 change of pH is 100x acidic/alkaline. if i remember correctly though.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,060

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    you need some fishies with your ribbons - Lady Hobbs   coreys need company - Lady Hobbs   Celebrating my first batch of bred shrimp! - kurly   Because I love my Bolivian Rams :D - kurly   So my first Bolivian won't get lonely - kurly   
    Myasthenia Gravis - Ovarian Cancer - Sexual Assault - Substance Abuse - kurly   Alzheimer's - Crohn's & Colitis - Cystic Fibrosis - Domestic Violence - Fibromyalgia - Leimyosarcoma - Lupus - kurly   Anti-Tobacco - Colon Cancer - Colorectal Cancer - kurly   Breast Cancer - Birth Parents - kurly   Adoptee - Bone Cancer - Child Exploitation and Abuse - Hope and Support - Peace - Retinoblastoma - Right to Life - Student Sexual Assault - kurly   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Still a little bothered by the PH drop so I decided to check for ammonia in the QT which I'm glad I did. This time the reading was .25 so I did a water change. Went back to my main tank and found another smaller foam in between the bio-balls and big foam. Replaced the "new" with the more old. So now I have all cycled media in the QT filter.

    Hopefully that will keep things stable until I put the new fish in my main tank.

    I'll continue to monitor parameters and change water as necessary.
    Last edited by kurly; 01-13-2012 at 05:23 AM.
    10 Gallon: Planted Red Cherry Shrimp
    65 Gallon: Planted South American Community
    30 Gallon: Planted Bolivian Ram Tank




    Reduce The Stress....Cycle Fishless!

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Cadillac, MI
    Posts
    42,933

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Member of the month, a toast is in order. - Strider199   Sorry about your blood parrot :-( - ~firefly~   For this; http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=111325 - Strider199   :-) - ~firefly~   Happy mother's day! Enjoy one on me LOL - imma24   
    Childhood Cancer - hobbs   World Trade Center Victims and Heroes - Fireworks Safety - hobbs   Myasthenia Gravis - Ovarian Cancer - Sexual Assault - Substance Abuse - Lady Hobbs   Bone Marrow Donation - Childhood Depression - Depression - Environment - Eye Injury Prevention - Glaucoma - Kidney Cancer - Kidney Disease - Kidney Transplantation - Leukemia - Lyme Disease - Mental Retardation - Missing Children - Organ Donation - T - Lady Hobbs   Arthritis - Child Abuse - Colon Cancer - Colorectal Cancer - Dystonia - Education - Free Speech - Interstitial Cystitis - ME/CFIDS - Reye's Syndrome - Save the Music - Teens Against Smoking - Victim's Rights - Water Quality - Lady Hobbs   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    If you are going to move your fish from one of your tanks to another of your tanks, you should not have to acclimate them again. That's only so they are not shocked my extreme changes in pH or temp shock.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,060

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    you need some fishies with your ribbons - Lady Hobbs   coreys need company - Lady Hobbs   Celebrating my first batch of bred shrimp! - kurly   Because I love my Bolivian Rams :D - kurly   So my first Bolivian won't get lonely - kurly   
    Myasthenia Gravis - Ovarian Cancer - Sexual Assault - Substance Abuse - kurly   Alzheimer's - Crohn's & Colitis - Cystic Fibrosis - Domestic Violence - Fibromyalgia - Leimyosarcoma - Lupus - kurly   Anti-Tobacco - Colon Cancer - Colorectal Cancer - kurly   Breast Cancer - Birth Parents - kurly   Adoptee - Bone Cancer - Child Exploitation and Abuse - Hope and Support - Peace - Retinoblastoma - Right to Life - Student Sexual Assault - kurly   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I mentioned possibly acclimating them again if I can't keep the PH at 6.6 - 6.8in the QT. It's been dropping down to 6.0 (maybe even lower) for some reason. The PH in my main tank stays around 6.8 on a consistant basis so I think there would be a pretty drastic change in going from a 6.0 (or even lower) PH to a 6.8 PH without acclimation.

    Hopefully I won't have to worry about the PH dropping anymore in the QT. I did a water change last night and also replaced the "new" media in the QT filter with more cycled media so now the entire filter contains extra media from my existing cycled tanks.

    I'll find out when I check my parameters in the QT today.
    10 Gallon: Planted Red Cherry Shrimp
    65 Gallon: Planted South American Community
    30 Gallon: Planted Bolivian Ram Tank




    Reduce The Stress....Cycle Fishless!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •