· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

Hybrid View

1. Default Medium for Lilaeopsis brasiliensis

0 Not allowed!
    Hello. I'm a newbie to this forum and to this whole aquarium thing as well. Recently my sister has given me her neglected 10l (2.5 gallon) tank with one swordtail. And now I've started thinking about getting a larger tank, measuring 500x300x350h (52l, ~13 gal). And I would like to, before letting in any fish, grow a "lawn" of lilaeopsis brasiliensis (Brazilian micro sword) in it. I'm worried about the medium it should be grown in.
    In "Freshwater Aquarium for Dummies" it is written about this plant that "This slow-growing plant does really well in fine substrate such as sand". Can I grow it completely in sand? Can I put some neutralized peat moss (pH~6.5-7) and then on top sand? How thick should be the layer of the medium? Can I make the surface uneven to create hill effect?
    I will also use CO2, and two T5, ~6500K bulbs, not sure about their power, they'll have to be shorter than 50 cm (because that's the length of the aquarium).
    Any more advice :)?

2. Default

0 Not allowed!
    They would grow in plain sand if the sand has some nutrients in it. For such a small tank I would really recomend a plants substrate.There are many types available that may suit your liking.Dont bother with the peat,it really adds nothing of value.You can scape the bottom any way you like it.

3. Default

0 Not allowed!
    What if I put water plant fertilizer in conjunction with sand?

4. Default

0 Not allowed!
    There are two types (looking at it broadly) of fertilizer. Water column and substrate (root tabs).

Plants have a primary method and secondary method of feeding. If you use sand, you should use root tabs for those plants that are substrate feeders, with water column ferts for secondary enhancement.