· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
  1. Default bmwguy525's Planted 20 Gallon (High) Adventure

0 Not allowed!
    I'm a beginner aqaurium owner a flat out plant know-nothing. I knew right off the bat that I wanted a full live plant tank and that I was going to do a fishless cycle, but I didn't know I'd be putting this much time and effort into the plants alone

I'm currently starting Week 4. Here's a progression of my tank:

Week 1

Week 1, just starting to read about plants and plant caretaking, but I was too impatient to wait until I had fully learned. Went out and bought a few plants, rocks, and sand. I'd come to learn that sand is a horrible substrate for plants, but I wanted the black rock/white sand look, and I had no idea what it meant for planting.

Week 1 plant stock:
    Java Fern - lace
    Weeping Moss
    Anacharis
    Anubias

Week 2

Week 2 brought about a lot of reading and learning. I knew my tank had a long way to go before I liked it, and I wasn't even close to the aquascape I wanted in the end result. I went back to the LFS to pick up some more lava rock, and a few more plants. This time I grabbed some shorter stuff to hopefully have spread as a grass-like floor.

My moss was quite brown and the Java Fern lace was really hurting, but after the first 7 days I added a CO2 diffuser and a some food plant tablets to bury in the sand substrate.

Week 2 plant stock:
    Java Fern - lace
    Weeping Moss
    Anacharis
    Anubias
    Crypt Parva
    Compacta Sword
    Short grass (?)
    ??? (Large plant in left corner, might be large Anubias?)

Week 3