· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Default Amazon Sword Clone?

0 Not allowed!
    Heyy so I'm pretty new to taking care of plants, especially aquarium plants...I have a bunch of amazon swords I bough awhile ago and they'r staying alive for the most part..lost a couple of leaves here and there but recently got some iron rich fertilizer which I hear they need a lot of. Anyway, I noticed a bud or something growing on one of the end of the stems and its been growing like crazy, It looks like a whole new root system growing and leaves sprouting out. I don't know weather to cut it off and replant it or just let it grow..Heres a picture.
    Last edited by l1lnik274; 05-08-2011 at 08:21 PM.

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

No Problem, Have A Gift Yourself! :) - MCHRKiller   You like horses and kids movies you must be a kindred spirit - Owlbehere   Anotherone for a great tank - Cliff   It goes round and round and round...  : ) - gadget228   It's a Thanksgiving bunny. - gadget228   
    Breast Cancer - Birth Parents - AmyLynn   

0 Not allowed!
    It's a sword plantlet. Means your swords are happy enough to reproduce. I would let it develop a better root system then you can clip it off and plant it.
    75 gallon planted
    5 gallon planted betta
    Lack of planning on your part doesn't justify an emergency on my part.

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Thanks for the quote - **AquaQueen**   Message for you sir! - Aeonflame   

0 Not allowed!
    Sometimes you get 4 or 5 little plants that way. Let them all develop till the leaves are 3 inches or so with a very good root system,then fold the whole stem over to the substrate and fasten each plantlet to the substrate then leave it that way till they take hold. Do it that way and it gives them all a very good chance to develop fully.

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons: