· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Default A few question's about discus before I make the plunge

0 Not allowed!
    OK, I have been doing small things with my new 60 gallon for about 2 months now (got the tank in the beginning of October). I have a sand over pete moss substrate with a small amount of plants (for now), with 6 24w 6500k bulbs, and 2 nice size pieces of drift wood. For filtering I have a Fluval 305 with ceramic rings and filter floss only, and an aquaclear 30 with a foam filter and filter floss. I do water changes every 3 or so days to get into the habit of doing frequent water changes. My tap water has a ph level of 7.6, and with all of the water changes thats what my tank water stays at. My plans are to get 4 discus around the end of November. From what I have read, discus do better in groups of 5+, but I don't want to over stock the tank. My concerns are my ph will be just too high for the discus to thrive, and the smaller school of discus will harass each other until someone gets hurt. I do want to get another piece of wood in the near future, but i highly doubt that will help my ph too much. So can anyone offer any insight as to what to do about the ph problem? Also any constructive criticism is welcome. Here are some pictures of my tank.

P.S. all of the fish in the tank in the pictures are being re-homed except for the Pleco.

Awards Showcase

Have a martini on me fellow western marylander - jbeining75 thank you so much my puffer and i are very happy - Angila Heres one! :D - Wild Turkey nice plecos - KingFisher For all your advice  thanks - Celtic Fins 
    for your kind comments. - Celtic Fins Merry Christmas - Northernguy Awesome help with my loaches - R2 Ranch Seasons Greetings. Have a great Christmas - Celtic Fins Wishing You A Happy New Year!!! - Jill