· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

Thread: tarantulas

1. Default tarantulas

0 Not allowed!
    Do any of you keep them? A good friend of mine breeds them and I've thought about it for a while but just recently I've really thought about getting into them. Not only are they interesting (and many of them look absolutely stunning) but compared to fish, they don't cost anything. The spiders themselves cost more than the other things, and they don't need to eat too often.

So yeah, just wondering if anyone here at the ac keeps em
    moar tanks plz

29g planted tank: 8 Cherry Barbs (2 male, 6 female), 2 Kribensis (male and female), 1 Dwarf Gourami (male), 1 Albino Bristlenose Pleco

2. Default

0 Not allowed!
    Ive been keeping them on and off for more than 10 years. They are amazing to watch, interesting to feed, and can be quite colorful depending on what you get. If you are starting out, I would recommend something that will web the crap out of the tank and wont require too much work. Trust me, Ive kept bugs that took a ton of work. For feeding, you can do crickets, but mine were all fed roaches. Roaches are much healthier for them, and if you really get into the T's you can breed your own instead of constantly buying crickets that die and stink. As for cost.. depends on what you think is expensive. I had spiders ranging from 1/4" spiderlings to 13" adults, so housing was anything from a vial to a 40 gallon tank. Substrate was a mix of unfertilized peat and vermiculite. Water dishes, misting bottles. Once the initial cost is made, upkeep cost is almost nonexistant.
    I would love to have them again now, but my boyfriend is terrified and his cats are serious hunters so until the cats go to the litter box in the sky, there is no sense in me even trying to convince him.. I can just keep adding fishtanks and pulis until then!
    Last edited by Kerry; 10-24-2010 at 08:56 AM.