· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default New Member from Central IL

0 Not allowed!
    Hello everyone I just thought I'd post a quick intro.

My Name is Zach I'm 25 married and live in central IL. I'm into building hovercrafts, I'm building a V8 powered Convertible VW beetle, and I've had a few fishtanks when I was younger. I work as a facilities manager (more about that later) in a local aluminum foundry and a webmaster on the side for the same company.

Here are a couple quick pictures of one of our hovers and also the bug:

Like I said I had a few other tanks in the past, Growing up I had a 10 gallon aquarium in my bedroom for a long time, then I made it into a terrarium, then that went to make room for a drafting table so I could design hovercrafts and such. My parents also had a 55 gallon tank for years until my dad's ball python got big enough that he needed the 55 gallon tank more than the fish... LOL

Anyways probably 2 years ago I got a free 10 gallon aquarium, filter, heater, bubbler, etc off of craigslist, but never found a place to set it up. Well I've had my computer set up with 2 monitors for designing hovercrafts and such, but the 2nd monitor died and I didn't use it much so I didn't replace it, which left a nice open spot :)

So last week I was surprised by a promotion from industrial mechanic to facilities manager at work so I thought I'd by me a 5-8 gallon tank to put in that newly opened up spot. After looking at a few tanks I was hard pressed to spend the money for a nice one, I mean either spend $150 for a fish tank or get some shocks for the v8 bug project.......... LOL Then I remember that free 10 gallon tank I had so I grabbed it and it fits in the spot perfectly.

So today after church my wife and I are going to head to the pet store to get some gravel, tank stuff, test strips, etc and start cycling the tank today.