· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
  1. Default Sufficient Lighting for a FOWLR?

0 Not allowed!
    I have a ten gallon in my office that a coworker and I were discussing converting to saltwater. It would be set up with about 2-3" of live sand, 3-5 lbs of live rock, a HOB with carbon filter, and two Clownfish, 1 yellow Tang. The lighting is 2 15 Watt bulbs. There would be 1 powerhead.

Thats all we want to put in it. Is this doable? My research says yes, but I trust the people here at AC

Thanks,
    Sean

2. Default

0 Not allowed!
    NIx the yellow tang, jsut read that their min tank size is 75. so just two clownfish, maybe some shrimp.

3. Default

0 Not allowed!
    Im a noob too but I think even 2 clown fish is a bit too much for a 10 gallon. the smallest clown fish (false clown) needs at least 20 gallons IMO. I would think maybe a goby or something might work out in a tank that size. If this is your first saltwater tank I would'nt pick a 10 gallon for my first tank. Things can go wrong VERY quickly with only 10 gallons or less of water.

0 Not allowed!
    I would go with just one clown fish or a small goby. 2 clowns would be a little cramped in a 10 gallon. You'll also need at least 10 lbs live rock for proper filtration. The lighting will be ok for FOWLR but if you ever go reef you'll need to upgrade. You also need a good skimmer. The tunze nano doc comes to mind and should work good in a 10 gallon.

Just be sure to do tons of research before adding your 1st drop of water. Saltwater takes a lot of time and patience and is a little more involved then freshwater.

29 gallon-planted community

20 long frag tank
    75 gal-planted goldfish

75 gallon mixed reef with 20 gallon sump

5. Default

0 Not allowed!