· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
  1. Question Freshwater Breeding Behavior

0 Not allowed!
    Folks, I'm not sure how to go about this so please bear with me.

I've seen some behavior in my tank that directly contradicts what I have read on the internet. The internet sources I refer to range from generally considered reputable, to "who knows what they know". I keep multiple tanks, 7 currently with 5 in storage, and have kept fish for 8 years. Not a complete newbie, but definitely not with the experience needed for this situation, so your help will be greatly appreciated.

So, let me dig in here. I'm not going to give you the name, family or species of fish, so that internet knowledge cannot color your opinion. I promise to tell you in my next post.

Three fish are involved. Let's call them "BB" for Big Belly, "2BB' for second big belly, and "SB" for Slim Belly. -

BB is the largest of a group, and has had a significantly larger belly than any other for the last 5 months and 2 weeks. Also has shown dominant behavior compared to other members of the species in the same tank. Can chase any fish in the group and has never been chased.

2BB is not as large as BB, but is developing a larger belly than it had 5 months ago. Ranking in the group is somewhere between 2cnd and 4th out of a group of 6. Chases and is chased within the group.

SB is as long as the other two fish but about 1/2 to 2/3rds as deep. Ranking is 5th or 6th out of 6. Never chases, has always been chased.

A couple of days ago I did about a 1/3 water change, gravel vacced a portion of the tank and then fed the fish. I also moved three fish from a non-competing species into the tank. A storm was coming in from the mountains.