· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Thread: Help !!

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Default Help !!

0 Not allowed!
    I am new to having an aquarium and I am very worried about my water and my fish. I bought my aquarium about 3 weeks ago from a fish store, once I got it home I set the aquarium up as detailed in the instruction book and after 3 days I tested the water which turned out to be perfect conditions for fish, I then took a sample of the water to the fish store for them to sample which they agreed the water was good, they then gave me my fish which are a Leopard Pleco (Charlie) two Angel Fish (Lucy & George) and two Bala Sharks (Bill & Ben). The problem I have is that ever since I have put the fish in the tank the water has too much nitrite (the test I have is the Tetra test No 2) good water should be yellow and bad/severe water is red. My tests always turn RED ! to much Nitrite but I am changing 20% water daily and putting in the Fresh Start and Filter Start together with Stress Zyme and Stress Coat as advised by the fish store, but to no avail the water tests stays red (too much Nitrite). Now I am so worried as the two Bala Sharks have blue spots on their sides, and Charlie my Pleco has changed with paler patches appearing all over his body and between his eyes (I've read that this can be caused through stress) the angel fish seem ok but they swim near the surface alot. I love my fish and hate the fact that I must be hurting them because I can't get the water right. Please any suggestions/advice would be greatly appreciated as I do not want to lose my lovely fish and I feel time is running out for them.

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

A fish for your AC Tank! - Northernguy   Chill Pill for sure.  :) - Lady Hobbs   here's a frontosa for giving good advice - Crispy   Thank you for all the advice - Cliff   You must be a member of the Gourami Mafia too! - Rhaethe   

0 Not allowed!