Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
 
      
        Via paypal



Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default How to make Water changes.


    0 Not allowed!
    I recently purchased a 50 gallon aquarium which is much larger than my current 14 gallon aquarium. I know that a 25% water change in a 50 is not a significant amount compared to a 125 or larger aquarium. However, compared to my three and a half gallons I change from my 14, 13 gallons is quite a step up. That would be three trips with a bucket which I don't mind at all. It just seems quite wasteful with the water. Having to turn the water on, wait until I get the temperature to match what it is in the tank, put in the chemicals, fill the bucket, turn the water off, pour in to the aquarium and do that two more times. It seems like a lot of water going right down the drain while I wait for the temperature.

    I know about the python and how it works. What I don't understand is putting the water back in. How do I add the water conditioner? It says to add to the stream of water going into the aquarium, but it's such a small amount to spread out evenly over the time it takes to refill the aquarium. I know I should add it before any of the untreated water gets into the aquarium. Do I add just enough for the water that is going back in? (ie the 13 or so gallons) Or, do I treat the entire aquarium? Which again seems wasteful.

    Please give me some of your sage advice. I hope this isn't one of those "there's no such thing as a stupid question, just stupid people" kind of questions.

    -N.A.E.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Drive North, First igloo on right
    Posts
    21,339

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Thanks and your first gift!! - The Red Severum   Eggs woo hoo!!! - Gayle   My new buddy.  LOL - Lady Hobbs   because you're always there to help! - gourami*girl   A beer for my fellow canuck! - NickFish   
    Arthritis - Child Abuse - Colon Cancer - Colorectal Cancer - Dystonia - Education - Free Speech - Interstitial Cystitis - ME/CFIDS - Reye's Syndrome - Save the Music - Teens Against Smoking - Victim's Rights - Water Quality - Northernguy   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    When refilling your tank with a python its best to turn off your filters,add the neccesary amount of dechlorinator and fill the tank.Wait 1/2hr and turn the filters back on.
    Ray Your Freindly Neighborhood,Fully Mod-ified, Self-appointed Pic Hound!! Need pics!!!
    Have you filled out your profile yet ?????????????
    The Fabulous AC ebook Please read>http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/ebook.html

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Charm City
    Posts
    618

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    To commemorate my new betta. - -Lp   Congratulations on your awards - Celtic Fins   thanks for the help in chosing an RC heli! - candice&jeff   thanks for helping me choose the perfect RC heli! - candice&jeff   ahahaha, into the well - Lab_Rat   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I dose for most of the tank when refilling with my python.
    150 gallon - red shoulder severum, gold severum, vampire pleco, gold nugget pleco, bush fish, clown loaches, botia loaches, mbuna cichlids, and a few others

    55 gallon - mixed african cichlids, and one anguilla rostrata

    20 gallon long - planted, 21 pseudotropheus demasoni fry

    10 gallon - heavily planted, 1 male betta, 3 harlequin rasboras, 2 zebra danios, & 2 rummy nose tetras

    5 gallon - planted, 1 male betta, 3 harlequin rasboras, 3 panda corys, and 6 cherry shrimp

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    the middle of nowhere
    Posts
    518

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    it wont  let  me give you rep, till i give some to undeserving peeps so enjoy this - bushwhacker   For your little MONSTER! - Crispy   Happy New Year! - Jill   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    just add the replacement ammount of dechlor to the tank, and fill with the python. The water dumping into the tank and the filter(s) will mix and distribute the dechlor.

    As far as temperature matching. Unless your water is ice cold, I wouldn't worry too much about it. Just add in the water and yur heaters will bring it up to temp.
    Why buy, when you can DIY?

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Drive North, First igloo on right
    Posts
    21,339

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Thanks and your first gift!! - The Red Severum   Eggs woo hoo!!! - Gayle   My new buddy.  LOL - Lady Hobbs   because you're always there to help! - gourami*girl   A beer for my fellow canuck! - NickFish   
    Arthritis - Child Abuse - Colon Cancer - Colorectal Cancer - Dystonia - Education - Free Speech - Interstitial Cystitis - ME/CFIDS - Reye's Syndrome - Save the Music - Teens Against Smoking - Victim's Rights - Water Quality - Northernguy   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    It doesn't hurt to have your filters off.Its best not to get chlorinated water in your filters.
    I have given my tank ich with the hose because the water became ice cold and I didn't notice.Keeping the temps close is wise.
    Ray Your Freindly Neighborhood,Fully Mod-ified, Self-appointed Pic Hound!! Need pics!!!
    Have you filled out your profile yet ?????????????
    The Fabulous AC ebook Please read>http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/ebook.html

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    I live in Minnesota and right now the water out of the tap is about 38-40 at the warmest unless I water from the hotwater heater. Thanks for all of your advice.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    the middle of nowhere
    Posts
    518

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    it wont  let  me give you rep, till i give some to undeserving peeps so enjoy this - bushwhacker   For your little MONSTER! - Crispy   Happy New Year! - Jill   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    It would Have to be a pretty major temperature change to have any ill effects. Frankly, 25% WC from your tap should not make a significant difference in the overall tank temperature unless your tap is almost literally ice cold. However, if for whatever reason, you are doing a much larger WC, you may want to let the water sit for a while at least until its room temperature..
    Remember. In the wild, fish experience temperature changes all the time. Between the ambiant temperature changes seasonally or just at night, to simple rainfall.

    For larger WC, I usually dump the water into a large rubbermaid tub and add a couple of heaters and a powerhead. Let it sit until its up to temp, then use a return pump to pump the water from the run to the aquarium.
    Why buy, when you can DIY?

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sacramento, ca
    Posts
    798

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Sorry for your loss - lahlumdi   here you go - mommy1   Heres Your Clown Fish! (Happy Easter!) - EmmanuelJB   
    Breast Cancer - Birth Parents - souly   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    When I fill up my water, i make it sligtly warm, not even LUKE warm. But ice cold. It pretty much comes out about the same as the tank heating it.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    18

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    You need a gift! Welcome to the AC - lahlumdi   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    With my water changes depends on which/who's tank it is, with my discus I'm very careful as to get the water as close to temp as possible, and the fry tanks fall under this category.
    Others that I'm trying to trick them into thinking its the rainy season for breeding/spawning their tanks are topped off with cool water almost cold.

    I've lived here long enough that water changes are fairly easy, the water test's the same pretty much all the time varies quite little one of the reasons I don't keep many africans.

    As far as chlorination can't remember where I read it but someone used the car wash hose filter attachment (I'll think of the name only on the first cup of coffee) and after using it tested the water on many levels for purity and such found that it did a great job.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •