· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Question changing out power filter

0 Not allowed!
    Good Mornin'...it is time for me to change out the 3 inserts (foam, charcoa, and bio-Max...in my Aqua-Clear power filter...

Are there a certain steps I need to go thru to do this?

I inherited a 75 gallon aquarium from a friend and I am new to this aquarium maintainence on this huge tank.. It is a freshwater aqua. with just 2 catfish-type bottom scavangers...and 11 fancy tail goldfish...I want to eventually graduate to some slow moving angel fish and whatever is compatible with them...but for now I really need to know how to go about changing out the old filter inserts and replacing them with the new ones....I have them here at the house...but wanted to be sure I do it right..

I need to know if I should turn the filter off...and remove all 3 inserts...or what?

Any help would be appreciated...
    thanks
    sherri.
    The pictures we take today, are our memories for tomorrow...take lots of pictures

Awards Showcase

For your AC Tank! - Northernguy Merry Christmas - Northernguy Happy Birthday!!! - Jill For your love of the pleco. - R2 Ranch I agree with many things you say on many topics, so hee is a gift  that - james20 
    Sorry about your rat. - cer for giving a sick rat a great life - frank_zappa so sorry about JR. - gabbyguppy This one is best! - Agassizii thanks for the motm nomination! - Lab_Rat 
    To another Scotty fan,thx for chatting. - smaug Congrats on your awards. - Brookfish Sorry about Blaze - Rue thank you very much. - smaug 1 year at AC! - Northernguy 
    Thanks for all the help lately i really appreciate it. - octoxpuss cause  your  good - bushwhacker For the Camden Aquarium tour! - Rue Happy Easter! - Northernguy