· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Default Newbie

0 Not allowed!
    Hello all,

I am a newbie to Discus. I was wondering what you all do to soften your water as my tap water is very hard. I have heard of many solutions such as adding Peat to filters, driftwood, RO, and many more.
    1. Adding Peat to your filters...I have an Eheim 2215 canister, where do you
    add it to the filter?

2. Driftwood...I would like to get some African driftwood

But I have also heard if you buy farm raised not wild that they can survive in hard water. I will be purchasing farm raised. Is this true or will it be stressful to the Discus?

Thanks,
    Greg

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

A cup of coffee to get you going on that build. - Strider199   Merry xmas! - ScottishFish   Merry Christmas - mommy1   Happy New Year - mommy1   Thank you for the birthday wishes. - mommy1   

0 Not allowed!
    I wouldn't say that farm raised discus can live in hard water, but they can tolerate a much wider range than wild caught. Keeping your params neutral would be fine. IME, cleaner, stable water is most important for the longterm health of sensitive fish.

As for adding peat, I think most use HOBs (hang-on-back) filters for this. I don't have much canister experience.

Personally, I use LOTS of driftwood to soften my water and keep my ph neutral.
    Works as a great buffer/stabilizer too when used in quantity.
    your friendly neighbourhood arowanaman!

Latest gifts & ribbons:

0 Not allowed!
    Yeah, that's just it. I don't want to have them "tolerate" the water. I want to house them in the right water.

I do have a HOB filter also, an Aquaclear 110 to go along with the Eheim canister. Does anyone know where to get the Peat?

Thanks for the reply

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons: