Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Calculators
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    24

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default My Adventures in cycling 2 tanks with fish at the same time


    0 Not allowed!
    Starting Day 6. After messing up a 20 gallon tank by being lazy I started over. Gave the 20 gallon tank to my son and bought a 56 gallon for myself.

    The 20 gallon has the original gravel with a new filter. He had some fish in some small tanks so he has a puffer, 4 minnows, and 3 shrimp. Yes I know that is strange. It is what he had so we figured we would just cycle with what we had.

    The 56 gallon has new gravel that was rinsed in the old tank water. It has a new filter and the old filter from the 20 gallon tank. It has 3 glass cats and 3 black skirt tetras.

    The 20 gallon started showing nitrites on day 4, the 56 gallon has not yet. Not sure if it has enough fish in it. right now the numbers look like

    20 gallon
    Ammonia - 1.0
    Nitrite - 0.5
    Nitrate - 10

    56 gallon
    Ammonia - 0.5
    Nitrite - 0.0
    Nitrate - 10


    I am keeping track of the daily numbers and my actions on a spreadsheet. You can follow along at http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?k...gd-CuT7IHtKgaQ

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Cadillac, MI
    Posts
    42,932

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Member of the month, a toast is in order. - Strider199   Sorry about your blood parrot :-( - ~firefly~   For this; http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=111325 - Strider199   :-) - ~firefly~   Happy mother's day! Enjoy one on me LOL - imma24   
    Childhood Cancer - hobbs   World Trade Center Victims and Heroes - Fireworks Safety - hobbs   Myasthenia Gravis - Ovarian Cancer - Sexual Assault - Substance Abuse - Lady Hobbs   Bone Marrow Donation - Childhood Depression - Depression - Environment - Eye Injury Prevention - Glaucoma - Kidney Cancer - Kidney Disease - Kidney Transplantation - Leukemia - Lyme Disease - Mental Retardation - Missing Children - Organ Donation - T - Lady Hobbs   Arthritis - Child Abuse - Colon Cancer - Colorectal Cancer - Dystonia - Education - Free Speech - Interstitial Cystitis - ME/CFIDS - Reye's Syndrome - Save the Music - Teens Against Smoking - Victim's Rights - Water Quality - Lady Hobbs   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Water changes need to start being done on that 20 gallon with ammonia reading 1.0.

    The 56 gallon (never heard of a 56) would have less toxins due to having more water volume. It's those smaller tanks that are harder to cycle.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    24

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    On the 20 gallon tank I did a 25% water change on days 3 and 4 when the ammonia hit 1.0. Will probably need to do it again tonight on day 6 after testing.

    On the 56 gallon, (not sure but that is what the sign said when we bought it) I did a 25% water change on day 3 when the ammonia hit 0.5. Probably shouldn't have done it then after reading some more.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    24

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Day 8
    Ammonia levels in both tanks dropped today and the Nitrite level in both jumped up. I am assuming that if the ammonia levels continue to drop water changes are going to have to still be done to keep the Nitrite levels down. The weird thing is that the Nitrate level on the 20 gallon went to 0 today. Been doing daily 5 gallon water changes on the 20 gallon and 15 gallons every other day on the 56 gallon.

    20 gallon
    ammonia - .5
    nitrite - 1
    nitrate - 0

    56 gallon
    ammonia - .25
    nitrite - 1
    nitrate - 10

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Drive North, First igloo on right
    Posts
    21,335

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Thanks and your first gift!! - The Red Severum   Eggs woo hoo!!! - Gayle   My new buddy.  LOL - Lady Hobbs   because you're always there to help! - gourami*girl   A beer for my fellow canuck! - NickFish   
    Arthritis - Child Abuse - Colon Cancer - Colorectal Cancer - Dystonia - Education - Free Speech - Interstitial Cystitis - ME/CFIDS - Reye's Syndrome - Save the Music - Teens Against Smoking - Victim's Rights - Water Quality - Northernguy   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Thats what happens in a cycle.First the ammonia peaks and drops as the nitrites peak.Soon the trites drop and leave nitrates.Cycled!
    Ray Your Freindly Neighborhood,Fully Mod-ified, Self-appointed Pic Hound!! Need pics!!!
    Have you filled out your profile yet ?????????????
    The Fabulous AC ebook Please read>http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/ebook.html

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    24

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    well seems like the cycle on both tanks has stalled, The water in both is crystal clear and it is taking all I have to keep everybody from not adding more fish.

    55 gallon
    on day 10, 11, 12, and 13 with no water changes. Same everyday
    ammonia - 0
    Nitrites - 1
    Nitrates - 10


    20 gallon
    on day 11, 12, 13 with no water changes. Same everyday except he lost his puffer last night
    Ammonia - 0
    Nitrites - 1
    Nitrates - 10


    Going out of town in the morning, will be back on Sunday so am thinking will do a 25% water change in both tanks tonight to be sure the trites don't take a jump on me tomorrow when I am away and unable to do anything.

    Any thoughts or suggestions??

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    569

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Good posts! Welcome to the AC - Gemini   You need another gift! - Northernguy   :) - SamAnthrax   :D - SamAnthrax   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Throwing some plants in might help reduce the stress on the fish.

    Java moss will do fine.
    "If you aren't part of the solution, you're part of the precipitate"

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    24

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Day 20 and I am going to say that both tanks are now cycled.

    55 gallon has been at 0 ammonia for 10 days, not counting the one day it was at .25 in the middle of that but it could have just been a bad reading
    The Nitrites has been at 0 for 2 days, Nitrates holding at 10 for the last 2 days. PH is 7.2


    20 gallon has been at 0 ammonia for 9 days not counting that one day it was at .25. Nitrites have been at 0 for 3 days, Trates at 20, getting ready to do a water change to lower them.



    Now that I am there I have a few questions.

    1) now that the cycle is complete can I go back to vacuuming the gravel once a week without causing any issues.

    2) the 20 gallon has a Aquaclear HOB filter and the 55 gallon has a Aquaclear and a topfin filters. the Topfin just has a bag with activated carbon. Do they make something else that i should be running in that and how do I change it without loosing the bacteria I have built already?
    The AquaClear both have a foam insert, Activated Carbon insert, and a biomax insert. Should I keep them both like that and again, how do I change them without loosing bacteria?
    Last edited by Gofastleft; 04-18-2009 at 03:23 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •