Aquarium Forum
 


Menu
  · Tropical Fish Home
· Fish News
· Aquarium Forum
· Calculators
· Equipment reviews
· Free Aquarium Ebook
· Feedback
· Link to us
· Photo gallery
· Plant species
· Tropica Plant DB
Tropical fish species
· By Common name
· By Scientific name
Tropical Marine fish
· By Common name
· By Scientific name

_________________
  ...

Articles
  · African Cichlids
· Algae Control
· Aquarium Decoration
· Aquarium Resources
· Aquatic Plants
· Barb Fish
· Betta Fish
· Breeding Fish
· Catfish
· Central American Cichlids
· Cichlids
· Clownfish
· Corals
· Corydoras Catfish
· Discus Fish
· Dwarf Cichlids
· Fish Diseases
· Frogs and Turtles
· Goby Fish
· Goldfish
· Gourami
· Invertebrates
· Jellyfish
· Killiefish
· Lake Victoria Cichlids
· Livebearers
· Malawi Cichlids
· Marine Aquariums
· Marine Aquarium Fish
· Other Fish
· Pleco
· Predatory Fish
· Photography
· Pond Fish
· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 51
  1. #11

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    815

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    For your first article and sticky! - fins_n_fur   For being a nice person. - Brookfish   For my fellow Missourian! - Corndawg   For the holidays : ) - lovleeko   Merry Xmas! - Corndawg   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    To add to fins post you dont have to worry about the murkyness it wont bother the fish.
    55gal: 1gold severum(jasper),1 Green Sev (Spot), 3 tiger barbs (left), bovarian ram.
    29gal: 3 goldfish growing out
    Scott

  2. #12
    frank_zappa Guest

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    wow, mollie thanks for putting all the work into that post....it was extreeeemely helpful to me.

    let me ask, is it possible to change the substrate without removing the fish from the tank, and only say, half the water, or is that just me being lazy? should i just suck it up and buy a new cooler so that i can do this the right way?

    one other important question, will the fluorite dark be suitable for my cories? i also want live plants, so im not sure if sand is an option for me.

    again, thanks for your post; it was just what i needed

  3. #13

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    16

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    awesome thread, i have one question and i have searched for an answer to no avail. I just switched to silica sand, and the water is very murky, it has been almost 24 hours since the switch and it is getting better but not as fast as i thought. my questions are how long does it take the water to clear up and can i run my aqua tech 30-60 filter since the water is murky?

  4. #14

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    westminster. SC
    Posts
    3,401

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    For your generosity! - Sir Tristen   Thanks! - Wild Turkey   Because your cool :) LOL - lovleeko   Thought you could use some good algae. Is there such a thing. LOL - lovleeko   stocking Rams - Algenco   
    Breast Cancer - Birth Parents - bushwhacker   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    puff of green you didnt rinse the sand enough...my last change took 2 hours cleaning 100 lbs of sand and less than an hour to set the tank back up lol but i was able to turn my filters on immediatly
    The only substitute for good manners is fast reflexes.
    RIP Roscoe. We will meet again Bug.

  5. #15

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    98

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Great post. Lots of info about substrate that I didn't know. I thought that sand in the tank would make the water cloudy and would also be impossible to clean, but I guess I was wrong!

    As for my situation/question, I am going to upgrade my tank from 10g fw planted tank to 20g, so I need more substrate. I currently have a mix of different color gravel, sized from 1mm to 4mm.

    Can I combine gravel, sand, and flourite for a mixed substrate?
    I was originally planning on just gravel and flourite, but now I'm interested in getting some sand in there as well. Is that possible?

  6. #16

    Default thank you and please help.


    0 Not allowed!
    Thanks.
    You have made my mind up about the substrate to use and filled me in on how to care for my fish (when i get em). i am getting a 5"tank given to me and i think its about 37 us gal, but i am swamped by the number of species to prepare to put inti it. i have 3 young children and they live watching this little tank with 3 goldfish in and i would like to make a happy active colourful community tank. please would anyone help me to select amount and type of fish. i am in no rush to get it up and running as i have to buy bit and bobs each week until i have the right items. any help would be very greatful.

    Thank you, Gaz;)

  7. #17

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    FEMA Region III
    Posts
    961

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    For all the kind words! - Brookfish   For your kind words & you need a cory - Celtic Fins   Congratulations on your awards - Celtic Fins   Kudos on the nicest comet gold Ive seen in awhile! - MCHRKiller   for being relevent to the irelevent - smaug   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Just sayin', mud would even be a more natural substrate for many fish than sand...looking at underwater Amazon footage points that way...is this ever done?
    29: Harlequin Raspboras, Zebra Danios, Black Skirt Tetras, Platies, Neon Tetras, CAE
    10: Otos, Amano Shrimp, Cherry Shrimp

  8. #18

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    East Stroudsburg PA
    Posts
    425

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Have an oscar for your AC tank! - Northernguy   here is a goldie that wont wreck your tank!!! - bigbad-ratman   To keep your tank destroyer in line! - terrapin24h   

    Smile


    0 Not allowed!
    hello i have question about sand i used to have and oscar in a 55 gallon and i put sand in the bottom well he stirred it up so bad and often i went through 3 filters in a month. it was the fine grain sand. now i have a oscar a gt and a dempsey and would like to switch to sand will i have the same problem seeing as i still have a oscar?? and also any tips on floating plants that they can all nibble on?? I tried plants that are on the bottom and my old oscar thought they were great to push around the tank lol.

  9. #19

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Annapolis Maryland
    Posts
    11,452

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    You need a gift - Lady Hobbs   Have a beer on me - sailor   Fresh outta the Chesapeke...maybe..lol - jbeining75   happy 21st birthday yay - angelcakes   Happy birthday! - Tigerbarb   
    Arthritis - Child Abuse - Colon Cancer - Colorectal Cancer - Dystonia - Education - Free Speech - Interstitial Cystitis - ME/CFIDS - Reye's Syndrome - Save the Music - Teens Against Smoking - Victim's Rights - Water Quality - turkey151   Emphysema - Lung Cancer - Lung Disease - Multiple Sclerosis - turkey151   Graves Disease - Lymphedema - Men's Health - Pro Choice - Prostate Cancer - Scleroderma - Thyroid Disease - Trisomy 18 - Wild Turkey   Adoptee - Bone Cancer - Child Exploitation and Abuse - Hope and Support - Peace - Retinoblastoma - Right to Life - Student Sexual Assault - Wild Turkey   Bone Marrow Donation - Childhood Depression - Depression - Environment - Eye Injury Prevention - Glaucoma - Kidney Cancer - Kidney Disease - Kidney Transplantation - Leukemia - Lyme Disease - Mental Retardation - Missing Children - Organ Donation - T - Wild Turkey   

    Default


    0 Not allowed!
    Get a bigger granule sand.

    A lot of people use 3m colorquartz and the different grades are different sizes
    I know S grade is pretty big, T is smaller I think.

  10. #20

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    East Stroudsburg PA
    Posts
    425

    Awards Showcase

    Latest gifts & ribbons:

    Have an oscar for your AC tank! - Northernguy   here is a goldie that wont wreck your tank!!! - bigbad-ratman   To keep your tank destroyer in line! - terrapin24h   

    Smile


    0 Not allowed!
    so a larger grade will not mess up my filter when my oscar goes digging? also i'm totally new to plants with sand can you put floaters in with sand and what type do you suggest?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •