· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Because I back our Blue...thanks for your service - Silbar   Welcome back! - Slaphppy7   Have another angel fish... - Slaphppy7   Merry Christmas! - Slaphppy7   No Message - Law Dog   

Default Amazon Sword leaves melting

1 Not allowed!
    By melting, I mean they became very thin and transparent. Now they look like someone took a mini-gun to them and blew a thousand holes through the leaves. I have a very low tech setup (i.e. small gravel and a Beamswork 48" LED 6500k light that is on 8hrs/day). I've read some things on the net that suggest it could be an iron deficiency but I'm not sure. I'm still fairly new to live plants.

I also have Crypts and Vals in the tank that are doing OK. Both of those plants have seem to hit a wall if you will with their growth though, but neither are showing signs of dying.

Is there anything I can do (fertilizer or substrate wise) to boost the growth/chances for the plants in my tank? I'm willing to buy ferts but I just don't have the time and money to invest in more lighting or CO2 at this time, nor do I really want to, lol. By substrate, I meant could I add Seachem or Flora Max to what I have now?

***Note *** I have trimmed all of the dying leaves from the plants, leaving only 1 leaf on a plant and 2 on the other.
    Last edited by Law Dog; 09-09-2017 at 06:47 PM.
    * 100gal show
    - planted w/ Crypts, Vals, Java Fern, Staurogyne repens and Amazon Swords
    - Neons, 4 Angelfish, Sunset Honey Gourami, BN Pleco, Spotted Sailfin
    Pleco, Odessa Barbs, Corydoras schwartzi, Serpae Tetras, Silver tip tetras
    * Fluval Spec V
    - Dwarf Gourami, , 1 Kuhli loach, 2 Black Phantom Tetras
    - planted w/ Crypts

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons: