· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Page 1 of 50 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: The Congo tank

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Congrats on the Platy fry - Silbar   Congrats on the shrimp! - Silbar   I loved the vid - Silbar   sfsamm - Boundava   Merry Christmas! - Slaphppy7   

Default The Congo tank

4 Not allowed!
    So, I've mentioned in other reports posts about my slowly working on my Congo tank. I've decided to start a journal of the adventure here as to track how and when different things have occurred as well as hopefully get advice when I've made or am about to make a mistake.

This tank is my first really large project tank. I've been doing aquariums for almost 30 years (27-28) and although I've taken my fair share of breaks I've almost consistently had something swimming in a table or shelf somewhere.

So... Currently I am slowly gathering and growing out stock in a 20 gallon standard tank. Stock including both fish, plants and hardscape materials. I've been cycled in the 20 gallon for around 2.5 months. But I have been researching exactly how I wanted to do this for quite a long while before I took the plunge.

CURRENT INFO :
    TANK - Marina 20 gallon kit

LIGHTING - stock from the kit (suits my needs well)

FILTRATION - Fluval C3
    Also have one bubbler in a corner that gets no flow and helps keep up movement along the bottom of the tank

SUBSTRATE:
    Flourite black sand capped with Caribsea African Cichlid mix - Sahara Sand

HARDSCAPE:
    Lace Rock and Dragon Stone
    Manzanita wood - a large stumpish with roots and some smaller branches (no tiny decorative ends)

PLANTS:
    ANUBIAS - Barteri, Coffeefoilia and a smooth variety of some type, a few small starts of Nana , and in another tank (but is for the final 55) several dense sections of Nana Narrow Leaf and I have some absolutely teensy tiny Nana Petite that may or may not end up used (might keep it in my tiny tanks so it doesn't get lost)