· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Default Taking Aqiatic Turtles Outside?

1 Not allowed!
    I'm really curious about this. I couldn't find much on the web about it. Is it ok, maybe even healthy, to occasionally take your aquatic turtles outside, to let them walk around in real grass, feel real sunshine?

About a week ago, I took both of my sliders ( I assume they're sliders ) outside. Lucy, the smallest one, didn't like it at all. She didn't move. Even when I would occasionally take them out in my room and put them on a towel, just to let them walk around, she still didn't move. But Hercules was the opposite. He would probably walk until he either walked off a cliff or got swept up by a predator. He always has his head up, looking around, smelling grass, etc. I really think he likes it but I'm not an expert so I don't know for sure. I quit taking Lucy out because after taking her out twice, it got to the point that when she sees my hand up over the water, she ducks under water and swims away from me, assuming I'm going to pick her up and take her out of the tank. So I no longer take her out when I take Hercules out.

Is this good or bad for them? I felt kind of bad because I've had them since they were hatchlings, so they've never actually walked around, never felt real grass or real sunshine. They've been stuck in a 20gal tank with only a basking site to walk on, which isn't large. I know they are aquatic, but don't they need to walk also? Lucy is the one in the top right of the collage. All the others are Hercules 🐢🐢

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Let the gift giving begin, Merry X-mas ;-) - steeler58   Merry Christmas to you and your family Nat. - Taurus   Merry Xmas to you! - angelcraze2   Champagne for the holidays. Cheers! - mermaidwannabe   Merry Christmas! - Slaphppy7   

0 Not allowed!