· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

To keep you encouraged. - mac   For your label making abilities - Slaphppy7   Happy Christmas! - Slaphppy7   

Default What is happening

0 Not allowed!
    So I'm a noob fish owner and plant owner and panic about everything

What is this radioactive plant doing lmao

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Happy Christmas! - Slaphppy7   Congrats with the trivia contest! - Slaphppy7   Thanks for taking the time with my angel :) - angelcraze2   Congrats on winning the DT! - Silbar   Happy Christmas! - Slaphppy7   

3 Not allowed!
    That's blue-green algae, which is not actually an alga but rather a photosynthetic bacterium. They tend to bloom in waters with high organic content, and some species may produce environmental toxins harmful to animals.
    I'd remove as much as I can with the siphon/gravel vac, and increase the frequency and size of water changes.

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

To keep you encouraged. - mac   For your label making abilities - Slaphppy7   Happy Christmas! - Slaphppy7   

0 Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by madagascariensis View Post
    That's blue-green algae, which is not actually an alga but rather a photosynthetic bacterium. They tend to bloom in waters with high organic content, and some species may produce environmental toxins harmful to animals.
    I'd remove as much as I can with the siphon/gravel vac, and increase the frequency and size of water changes.
    Would high organic content be because I have too many plants?

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Here's to good games tomorrow ;-) - steeler58   Thanks for the rep ;-) - steeler58   My fish say Thank You - KoryKat   Thanks for the Rep ;-) - steeler58   Enjoy your weekend my friend - Taurus