· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Default SO many questions about my cichlid tank!

1 Not allowed!
    Hello! So my name is Ace and I joined this forum because I have a South American Cichlid tank, but I am wanting to take it farther. Before I can do that, I need to learn everything there is to know about these fish. I've had fish tanks all my life, but I'm new to cichlids, so forgive the barrage of questions. Here's what I'm working with:

I have a 40 gallon tank with a sand substrate and 2 live plants. A large river stone mountain is the main feature, as well as a few other little snags and things. My PH seems to hang out around 7.2. My population right now consists of two convicts, (one that has gotten very large very fast), 3 gold rams, 1 blue ram, 1 firemouth, and 1 that looks JUST like the firemouth but the petstore tells me it's a flowerhorn. I've recently lost 2 fish- an oscar and a blue ram- which is essentially why I'm here.

I am pretty sure I need to soften my water, and maybe lower the pH just slightly to create a more comfortable atmosphere for my rams (they're my favorites). I am wondering, though, what has caused the deaths of the oscar and the one blue. The oscar was one of the larger fish, but oddly docile. The ram, when I found him, did not look at all like he'd been fed on or anything. However, I'm not ruling out stress caused by other larger fish as the cause of his death.