· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Default Is this really possible?

1 Not allowed!
    Hey all, I'm not new to keeping fish but I am starting my first tank in almost 10 years. I've never done a fishless cycle before so I thought I'd try that out. I've been cycling my 40g tank for about 3 weeks now using pure ammonia and I've been testing daily since my ammonia started dropping but it's been a slow process (4-5 days between dosing and when it would hit 0). Today it's been about 3 days since my last test and ammonia addition. 0ppm ammonia for the first time, nitrite and nitrate, they both turned dark purple and dark red (respectively) immediately after I shook them. So after work today I did a 50-60% water change, added ammonia, and let it wait. When I checked, the nitrite and nitrate both turned dark purple and dark red again but not quite as quickly this time, it took about 4 minutes to get to full color. My main question after this wall of text is pretty simple: is it really possible for that much ammonia and nitrate to still be left over after that much of a water change?

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Thanks for the gift! I bow to your experience so i wanted to be sure that i did not give the OP wrong info. - Silbar   Tx for all the help for me and everyone else! - angelcraze2   Rocksor knows cichlids! - Brhino   Can''t give rep points, but great job on the diagnosis/treatment - Boundava   Sending you a geophagus to  tank you for your analytical powers! - discusluv   

1 Not allowed!
    what is the ammonia reading 1 hour after adding ammonia?

what si the nitrate reading from the tap?

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Thanks for the Rep ;-) - steeler58   No Message - BluewaterBoof   Have a beer for 5,000 posts ;-) - steeler58   Closest thing I could find for a gold star. - Taurus   Gold Star for that one! - RiversGirl