· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Congrats on 3,000, have an oyster! (?) - Slaphppy7   For giving your daughter a tank, scaping rights included! - RiversGirl   Let the gift giving begin, Merry X-mas ;-) - steeler58   Happy Holidays to all of you! - Boundava   sorry to hear about your knee. since you dont drink herea a slice - bpete   

Default Which moss to choose?

0 Not allowed!
    Hi, all. I have a 55g Walstad-style tank I'm about to set up--soil-under-sand substrate, moderate current, very heavily planted, moderate to highish light. Should have a decent amount of CO2, but not a lot in the way of nutrients in the water.

I would really like to try my hand at moss again, to attach to some driftwood and my backdrop. But I'm new to mosses, and I'm a bit stumped what to pick. A little natural spreading would be nice, but I don't need it to take over the tank. I am going for a ruins-reclaimed-by-the-jungle look. I like the lush, fern-like greenery, and I hear mosses make good spots for shrimp to hang out.

The pet store can get the following kinds for me:
    Flame
    Java
    Anchor
    Christmas
    Willow
    Taiwan

To be honest, the all sort of look about the same to me. Any ideas or suggestions? Any that I should avoid? I'd kind of like to get a couple different kinds and see what works.

Thanks, as always! Tom

Awards Showcase

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Let the gift giving begin, Merry X-mas ;-) - steeler58   Merry Christmas to you and your family Nat. - Taurus   Merry Xmas to you! - angelcraze2   Champagne for the holidays. Cheers! - mermaidwannabe   Merry Christmas! - Slaphppy7   

0 Not allowed!