· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Default Neon Tetra Disease???

0 Not allowed!
    Hello, yesterday I introduced six neon tetras into my 20 gallon community tank (one extremely docile betta male, and five rasboras with assorted live plants). This is my first community aquarium in some years however I have kept solo bettas on and off for the past few years and this is my first time with tetras and rasboras. Anyway, when I brought them home and was acclimating the tetras into the tank I noticed one constantly swimming up at the top of the petstore bag. He was swimming fine but I thought it odd that all of the other fish were shoaling towards the bottom of the bag. When I released them into the tank one of the tetras (the same one. I could recognize him because of his smaller size) would not swim with the others. He was often on his own and was one of the few that would frequently spend time at the top of the tank. His colour was a bit duller than the other tetras but not by a big difference and he seemed healthy other than being chased away frequently by the other fish. Today (after putting them into the tank last night), I noticed this tetra hiding often and for the better part of the day I could not find him in the tank until this evening when I found his dead body stuck in some plants. I know for sure that my betta did not attack him for I kept the betta in a bag floating in the tank until I knew for sure that he would not attack the tetras. I am paranoid that there could be something wrong with this fish, although he does not show any symptoms of neon tetra disease (he has no masses, nor a malformed body but like I said his body is discoloured). The rest of the shoal appears healthy currently (I am watching them SOOO closely for any symptoms), their colour is beautiful and they are staying in at least groups of two (and not showing any of his unusual behavior of seclusion). I