· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Latest gifts & ribbons:

Your first red cherry shrimp! - Slaphppy7   

Post Beginner looking for help with my 3g tank

2 Not allowed!
    I am a beginner looking to start my first tank since I had a betta. When I had the betta I used a water conditioner to make that part of the environment suitable for him/her (I'm not sure the sex... It was named Dory, I let my 2 yo nephew name it, it was blue and he really liked Finding Nemo at the time. Anways...) I want to become a hobbyist so I am trying to establish my 3g tank (I know it's small I only plan on starting with a couple fish) as I would a bigger tank so I can learn with something small and learn to do it right the first time (I know there's not necessarily a single "right" way).

I would like to keep 3 tiger barbs and 1 snail (I'm not sure which kind; most likely whichever my locally owned pet shop has in town) in my 3g tank. Advice?? Both positive and negative feedback welcome just don't chew me out, as I said I'm a beginner. I'm willing to change anything and everything about my fish choices. This is what I have chosen based on the research I have done and a little "experience" that I have with a tank that my parents had when I was about 6-7 that I would occasionally help take care of.

I would like to get live plants immediately to help speed up the cycling process I'm just not sure what species I need and how many plants I would need. I'm willing to order plants online if my local pet store doesn't have the ones you recommend.

Also along the lines of plants... Sort of... How should I do the substrate since I want to keep live plants?? I have colored gravel right now, should I get something else or will the gravel work fine?

Before I start my tank I plan on purchasing all the equipment I need. Here is a list that I have compiled of what I think I need:

Filter
    A clamp light with a cfl light
    Thermometer